We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Resort...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Perth City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Last Resort...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

As the title says, keep this as your last resort.
I've stayed in Holiday Inn Portsmouth (UK), as well and I think all of their hotels are exactly the same. Holiday Inn UK at least had complimentary breakfast...this one doesn't.

The lift was really small, almost no space left after pushing in 2 luggage and 2 people...plus it was cranky as well.

Location is the only advantage for staying in this hotel.

Stayed October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Ujju
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory and extend my sincere apologies for any service shortfalls in particular the lifts.
I would very much appreciate if you would permit me the opportunity to understand further what went wrong. I would be most grateful if you could please contact me either via direct message or at the hotel directly.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Australia.
Kind regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    174
    68
    12
    11
See reviews for
62
90
33
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I got into the hotel after 22:00 and I was in the lobby by 07:30 so it was only a short stay.

The bedding was clean and comfortable and the 2 staff members at reception were both friendly and professional.

The other 3 members of my project all reported the same to me when queried.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

the worst hotel on earth
we booked this hotel over new year as it was close to northbridge for new year festivities in northbridge but also because they have a pool which would be a great treat for our daughters during a hot perth summer so we booked for 2 nights. when we checked in we were told the pool was only available till 9pm that night as it was being decommissioned-i explained that the pool was the reason we booked the hotel for 2 nights and that the pool issue was not disclosed to us. we were then told their was nothing they could do. When we got to our room the room was not up to scratch. The towels had holes in them. The sheets were stained. There was dust and rubbish under the bed. We requested extra towels as we had 2 children in tow-they never arrived-so i went down to the laundry area myself and got extra towels. We made the mistake of giving this hotel a second chance. The previous time we had to keep requesting our room to be made up, by 4pm a housekeeper finally made up the room. these are only a few problems with this hotel. Yes I have filed complaints-but noone has ever got back to me to even so much as a simple apology. I have copies of all i the complaints i have sent off-not one reply. disgusting

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopping over in Perth was made all the better by our stay here. Great location, restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. Service was great, will stay again when in Perth

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and two children cannot give enough praise to the wonderful staff at the holiday inn in Perth WA.The service and facilities at the hotel and not to mention the wonderful staff made our stay a memorable one.We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking at accomadation in Perth,We will definitely be staying there again.
Mark Allen.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent, helpful and friendly staff and a very clean and spacious room. Breakfast was also very good. The hotel seems quite expensive but I think this is the norm for Perth! The location really could not be more central.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Visited Perth on a short business trip, stayed at Holiday Inn at City center. The hotel is located at very convenient location close to restaurants as well public transport specially 2 mins walk from Perth underground station.

The hotel staff is very good and nice, but hotel rooms and furnishing are the big let down. Old furniture, rotten carpet, slow moving lift and I can go on ......

Hotel seriously need renovation and doesn't match up the name of Holiday Inn. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Delux King rooms at the hotel comes with some perks like free breakfast etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Address: 778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.