We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Night Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ellington Jazz Club

The Ellington Jazz Club
191 Beaufort Street, Perth, Western Australia 6929, Australia
(08) 9228 1088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Nightlife in Perth
Type: Jazz Bars, Bars
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed Noah's Ark; a unique group with two drummers, two keyboards, and two saxophones. Even though we sat right in front of the group it was not too loud. The quality of the musicianship was exceptional and it was clear the group was enjoying what they were playing. So were we! Chairs could be a little more comfortable and the mixed drinks were a bit pricey. The food and wine was very good and reasonably priced. Nice intimate venue that encouraged interaction between audience and band. Will go back next time in Perth!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome 1st experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Wonderful and entertaining night listening to Marcio Mendes and friends - a samba social!
Finger food was delicious. Service was fantastic. Will definitely find me here again

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed that there was no jazz when I visited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The ambience is excellent, service is prompt and the club strictly follows a no-talking policy during performances. However, it was disappointing that the group labelled as a Blue group played more rock than blues

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Jazz Club ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a small club which has two levels and a terrific atmosphere, we have been a few times now and always walk away happy. Food is cheap and tasty, staff are friendly and attentive and the entertainment great. well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seedy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Filthy smelly interior, poor plumbing, the staff are appalling. Over rated, the musicians were mediocre at best. The food was far from perfect and the drinks were overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ellington Jazz Club also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Ellington Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ellington Jazz Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.