We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Pierre Sancho

Jean-Pierre Sancho
878 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
08 9444 1904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Description: OUR HISTORY IN FRANCE. The history of SANCHO is the story of one family's love of good food and passionate commitment to the best traditional baking methods over more than 100 years. In 1904, Albin Sancho opened the first Sancho bakery in the medieval town of Lodeve, in the south of France. When Albin died in 1936, his son Albert took over the bakery. He later purchased the shop next door as the business grew and then another...In 1967, when Albert died, his son Jean-Pierre took over, he had trained in all aspects of patisserie and baking. When he took control of SANCHO, he maintained the traditional, labor-intensive methods of bread-making that had been handed down through the family since the 19th Century, deliberately bucking the trend of factory mass-production, and ALWAYS insisting on the best quality ingredients. Jean-Pierre Sancho still operates today from the Bakery his grandfather Albin started in 1904, he has opened several other bakeries that bear his name.In 2009, Jean-Pierre Sancho passed his knowledge to 3 young French men who now call Australia home.OUR HISTORY IN AUSTRALIAThanks to our customers, our staff and our suppliers, our first year in Australia has been better than we could have imagined. In 2010, We opened the first Jean-Pierre Sancho bakery in Australia, it was the first French Boulangerie Patisserie in Perth, at 878 Hay Street. At the beginning of 2011, we opened our second shop at 111, St Georges Terrace, Perth. Shortly after, Neil Perry approached us to supply our bread to his Perth Rockpool Restaurant, We now supply bread to some of WA’s best restaurants. In April 2011, we joined the Buy West Eat Best program to promote local produce, both as a wholesaler and a retailer. In June 2011, we were awarded Best Coffee Shop in Perth by the Restaurant and Catering Association. Our Macarons and our croissants were praised as the best 3 in Perth by the Sunday Times. In August 2011, we won Best Bakery in Australia and went on Live National Television, Channel 7’s Sunrise program. In September 2011, we will open our third shop at 270, William Street, Northbridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had bought a scoop on for the hay street outlet in west Perth. As we are vegetarians, the chef was happy to add bigger portions of veggies and extra eggs to compensate for the bacon. That was a very good gesture and gave us very good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-PierreSancho, Front Office Manager at Jean-Pierre Sancho, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your brunch at our West Perth outlet and we are happy to hear that our Chef fulfilled your food requirements.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great cookie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Tried this little cafe on a whim, and found a delicious crispy peanut butter cookie, and a good hot coffee to accompany it. Lots of delicious wares on display, and plenty of seating. No wifi, which was a shame, as would be an ideal place to check in on things.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-PierreSancho, Front Office Manager at Jean-Pierre Sancho, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear James,
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your peanut butter cookie and coffee. We also agree that installing the WIFI in our cafe will be a great thing for our customers; it's definitely an idea we will be discussing.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Sarah for the Jean Pierre Sancho Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited for a late breakfast. $18 breakfast special.

Burnt eggs, no butter for toast.raw sausage

Must have been a bad day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-PierreSancho, Front Office Manager at Jean-Pierre Sancho, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear John,

Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience at Jean Pierre Sancho.
Our team is always dedicated to provide the best service and we are very sorry that you had a disappointing breakfast.
The message has been passed on to our kitchen and staff floors to avoid that the same thing happens again.
Thanks again for taking the time to visit our cafe.
Hoping you had overall a very nice stay in Perth.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Authentic taste of France in Perth...Bon Appetit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perth is so lucky to have Jean-Pierre Sancho's cafes as a tasty option 7 days a week!
Delicious food, both savoury and sweet with a mouth watering selection of authentic French tasty bits that will instantly transport you back to your French holiday with one bite.
My absolute must have is the citron tart....words cant describe it as the pastry case is just as delicious as the lemon filling - so best you taste for yourself, and it is even a brilliant option to purchase a large one for events or functions.
The staff and service are efficient and friendly, and the café has a relaxed Parisian charm to instantly improve your mood on a bad working day!
Bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-PierreSancho, Front Office Manager at Jean-Pierre Sancho, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Nonny,

Thanks for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor and letting us know you were happy with our products. It's always nice to hear that people appreciate what we do and it encourages us to even do better.
We are very happy if we managed to provide you with a little taste of France!

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

KInd Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Opens On Sunday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Prolly the only bakery cafe that opens on Sunday in the city! Their pastries and bread have won them some awards and business of the year. Try the raisin danish pastry and croissants. Pretty awesome! Parking is ample on weekends.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-PierreSancho, Front Office Manager at Jean-Pierre Sancho, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Roy L,

Thanks for your review, it is extremely rewarding for us to learn that people enjoy what we do.
I am really pleased you liked our raisin Danish (escargot :-)) and croissants.
I’ll be sure to pass on the feedback to our bakers. They work hard to bake fresh bread and pastries every day.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Pierre Sancho also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Jean-Pierre Sancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Pierre Sancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.