We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant

Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant
132 Terrace Road, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
618 9325 1868
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy the stunning flavours of Vietnam, just a short stroll from the Concert Hall in the city. Southern Star Restaurant specialises in the finest traditional Vietnamese cuisine and provides diners with consistent, quality food and outstanding service in a relaxed contemporary setting. Open 7 days for dinner and Monday to Friday for lunch.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken lettuce cups which where great and the stock standard basil stir fry which was very tasty. Overall everything we had was good. It's the best Asian restaurant I've come across in the area having stayed there for work many times. Worth a look I'd you want some good fresh SE Asian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    37
    32
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant experience of my life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

In many years of traveling, I have never had such appalling service. The seafood laksa had one prawn - when I pointed this out, I was told fish balls count as seafood and that I should learn what seafood is before speaking. It is unfortunate that our last night in Perth was spoiled by the rude staff. Future customers beware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy food with big serves and prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Yummy food with big serves and prompt service. Good wine list and friendly staff. Its a mix of asian dishes not just vietnamese. The duck with lychees and red curry sauce was a winner followed closely by the warm sticky rice and coconut dessert. Nice and close to the novotel and pan pacific.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fantastic meal before leaving perth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was our last night in Perth and we passed by few times and decided to go to eat Asian food. the service and food was really good, friendly staff and kids friendly too. food was very tasty for a very reasonable price, if back to Perth we'll be back to pay them a visit, recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a great standard of food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to lunch there with a couple of colleagues recently. We started with fresh spring rolls and home made stuffed chicken wings.....just delicious! I had the beef salad which was a taste sensation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.