We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food average, no atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agni

Agni
17 Wotan Street | Innaloo, Perth, Western Australia 6018, Australia
9244 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,202 of 1,540 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food average, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A group of us went on Saturday night, the restaurant was 2/3 empty so no atmosphere at all. We had the smorgasbord which was fine although some of the dishes were not replenished (probably due to lack of people), by the time we got to dessert some of them were already finished. Can't say I would recommend as it was nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Regulars for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Agni is one of our favorite restaurants, and has been for many years. The staff are truly wonderful. Every time we visit they can not do enough to look after us. The manager, Tyna, is especially sweet and so very attentive. We always look forward to catching up with her. The food is consistantly wonderful, tasty and always of generous serve. We look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Our wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

So we chose Agni to have our wedding as it's both my husband and my favorite restaurant (we especially love the buffet) I have a few friends who weren't looking forward to the food as they don't enjoy Indian cuisine how ever each person told me that after their experience that night they changed their view. Everyone especially commented on how lovely the fish curry was. I love both the rogan josh and the butter chicken the most. The service was outstanding and I especially loved the backdrop curtain/drape over the window looking on to Scarborough beach road. The fairy lights were a very beautiful touch. Loved every minute of our reception and can't praise the staff at Agni enough for making it so perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Australia
1 review
“Ali and Adrians wedding 25/4/2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Agni, being our daughters favourite restaurant was the ideal choice for her wedding breakfast on Anzac day. The wedding décor was just amazing and with our own personal touches ticked all the boxes for the venue, the lit backdrop behind the bridal table looks amazing on our photos. Our guests thoroughly recommended the food: plenty of choices to suit fussy palates and very authentic Indian cuisine. Guests were happy to have spice levels labelled to avoid unexpected surprises (we have had no negative feedback about the food at all). Even the water jugs on the table were perfect temperature and lightly flavoured with lemon. Many comments were made on the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, a couple of unexpected hiccups created by the independent DJ giving guests the wrong information were dealt with quickly and professionally by the staff ( always smiling). The bathrooms were immaculate ( a biggy for us as shabby, unkept bathrooms can sour the best experience). Since the day, so many people have said they should have gone back to the buffet for more food ( because it was so good) but like all perfect nights the time flew by all too quickly. Thank you to all at Agni from Alison and Adrian's families and friends for a truly memorable night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Sensational experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food and hospitable service. As soon as we arrived we were pleased to see a doorman awaiting our arrival dressed in Indian attire. The restaurant was grand. Chandeliers and settings were just classy! Food displayed on the buffet was amazing, did not expect such variety. It all tasted beyond excellent including the desserts. We spotted a dish on the menu that we never came a cross in other restaurants, HYDRABADI GHOST, we made sure we tasted it although it was not on the buffet. No regrets! Did not mind paying extra for that dish. It's worth every dollar! We are sure to return!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agni also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Agni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.