We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockpool Bar & Grill, Perth

Rockpool Bar & Grill, Perth
Burrswood Resort Complex | Great Eastern Highway, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 1,540 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Customer service is exceptional at Rockpool. The staff are great, the food is excellent, all in all it lives up to expectations and then some.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    161
    131
    67
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautifully-decorated restaurant with excellent service, but the food is not worth the price tag. Completely overpriced for fairly average food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great aged steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love this Restaurant as it is considered as one of the dearest restaurant in Perth . My hub had a sirloin and he said it's a good one i reckon it is good value hence the place is really romantic and pleasant . Staffs very friendly . Foods great . Beer and my ginger beer with mint really refreshing .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant has great ambience, service and food. For a special night out what more could you want (maybe a view - I guess you can't have everything!)?

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wildly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rockpool is a very good – but not great – restaurant, and I can’t work out why the critics love it.
I do admire the highly trained staff and the number of them, the kitchen team’s ability to feed so many people with good food from an extensive menu, and the stylish and comfortable interior – particularly the amazing introduction down the hallway to heaven. Pity it’s not quite divine once you get there.
Also, I am told the wine list offers some of the best available and evolves daily.
There are several things about the place I just don’t get.
On the night we dined there, there was no choice of bread, just a too-crunchy (rather than crusty) offering of Turkish-style. It was OK, but if you’re not giving a choice, give normal bread.
You order lamb cutlets and you get lamb cutlets. With a separate jug of mint jelly. If you ordered lamb cutlets at most other places, they would be complemented by a sublime stock-based sauce and several other well-chosen elements that fill out the dish and bring a little surprise to the eyes and taste buds. They would be artistically arranged on the plate and integrated with other elements of the dish.
For ‘lamb cutlets’ also read steak and most other meats.
I don’t like ordering vegetables separately unless I want extras. When paying $45 or more for a chunk or two of meat, I want the chef to give me vegetables specially chosen to go well with that particular meat, combining textures, tastes and colours to create a complete dish.
Dessert is a similar experience. If you order pavlova, that’s what you get. Just pav, with cream and one fruit topping, and this practice annoys me. It feels like they’re saying “What do you expect? You want pav, you got pav.” Pav elsewhere is probably a little less than a quarter of a 9” whole, with less rich cream and mostly likely more fruits and other yummy bits – and plated with a little finesse to delight the eye.
The same goes for the crème caramel – there was nothing mystical or enchanting about it in accompaniments or presentation, as would be expected for the premium price.
I don’t mind paying for a great meal when I can see the skill involved in getting it to the table.
There’s no doubt Rockpool sources the best products, and it calls itself a bar and grill, rather than a restaurant.
But at high-end restaurant prices, and with customer expectations of a restaurant experience, it can be compared to other restaurants – and I believe it compares badly.
It also borders on a cattle-market experience, saved only by the professional service.
I had eaten at Rockpool in Melbourne a year before, and had the same impressions, but I had to try the one at Burswood as I thought I must have been missing the point.
I believe people jump on the Rockpool bandwagon and think it’s good because they read reviews in the media.
My advice – go to a good restaurant instead. Perth has so many to choose from.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill, Perth also viewed

Burswood, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill, Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockpool Bar & Grill, Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.