We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Perth's real gems!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhouse

Greenhouse
100 St. Georges Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
(08) 9481 8333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
palmyra western australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of Perth's real gems!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We loved everything about this wonderful establishment. Have been repeat customers many times simply because it is brilliant. Even when turning up without a booking, very busy, not a table in sight - the professionalism of the staff make you want to wait - however long it will take. Go there!.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    92
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Food & Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very cool place with great mission to be as environmentally sound and energy efficient as they can be. Most in the restaurant were locals, which was nice. I loved the simple/recycled decor, bare bones in a good way. I had the pizza with cherry tomatoes and salad on top, great crust, I think it was cornmeal. Paired with the refreshing Cooper's Pale Ale.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Totally poor in all ways.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived just after noon and we were at that time the second lot to enter the establishment. My wife and I and two year old. Sat at a pretty awkward table with crap chairs made from some old piece of who knows what, real chairs it seems are reserved for suits.

At this time only us and one other in the place, the kitchen staffed by what all appeared to be very very your crew seemed in a flap doing not much at all.

Took our "Still or sparkling order" and read us the specials which we couldnt hear over the music.,then that was it. Finally had to ask to place our meal order. At this time also placed order for two coffees.

After about 15 minutes reminded the wait staff of the coffees but they still did not arrive.

Meal arrived shortly after and again reminded of coffee,the food was actually okay.

Finished our meal and coffee still not to be seen. Staff removed coffee from the bill, but overall very poor staff whom appeared awkward and to have no real idea how things should work. Expect hired from friends rather than experience.

This place has put way to much focus on trying to get funky little things to furnish the place and meal serving, i.e. serving chips on an ice shovel / flour scoop, everything was like this. If they perhaps directed that attention to the service Id be going back but in this case wont be heading back there again.

One thing it called the Greenhouse, how about Brownhouse? The plants surrounding the building are nearly all dead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stopped in for a light bite to eat and a drink (about 8:30pm on a Monday night) after having read about the chef and food when the restaurant first opened. Wow what a little gem! Decor is funky and in keeping with the environmental awareness theme. Lots of quirky little touches which make the dining experience interesting. Young staff who really seem to enjoy their job - they are interested in the customer and are able to explain the dishes and answer any questions asked. We shared a pizza of the day - light, wholesome and simply BUT yummy! We were told that the salt crusted caramel was 'to die for' and that was right. We thought we had died and gone to Heaven. Menu choice is small, but with the love and passion that goes into each dish - who can complain. Prices are not cheap, but for a memorable meal be willing to splurge. Will certainly be going back there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great light & healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Some of the best food I've had anywhere on my travels , and such a welcome change from heavy meals - but the backless cube seats are very uncomfortable.

I suppose that helps preserve the trendy image by keeping grumpy old codgers with bad backs out of the place. Too bad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhouse also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.