We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tom's Kitchen

Tom's Kitchen
Shafto Lane Shp3b | 880 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
61 8 9321 0345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Deciding to only have a starter from the main menu, was talked into a side salad which consisted of a large portion of English spinach, a few sprouts and oil and vinegar dressing. When presented with the bill I was told this "salad" was $10. Even in a 4/5 Star restaurant side salads are no more than $9 and at least there is more than "green". I feel sorry for the staff. I will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    12
    12
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Terrible Tom's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Discovering that Kings Cafe was closed down, we ambled along looking for an alternative venue for an extended lunch. Tom's Kitchen seemed to fit the bill - a two course set lunch and a reasonable choice of wine.

My main course, Tagliatelle with Prawns, is honestly the worst pasta dish I have ever been served. Strands of pasta glued together with a starchy (generic bottled?) sauce that couldn't be separated. The waitress did the perfunctory "How's your meal". When I said that i thought it was a reheated plate she muffled something about the pasta being home made on the premises and avoided our table thereafter. The prawns (or was it frozen shrimp?) were tiny bits of flesh, cut small so as not to be recognisable. No garnish...........and I had to make a special request, and wait, for parmesan.

Note to wait staff: Don't ask customers how they are enjoying their meal if you don't have time/interest for their reply. If the only answer you are looking for is "good" , don't bother.

I have genuinely had better pasta dishes in a food hall out of bain marie.
My partner's' very small portion of beef was tough and uninteresting. Good location with a full license. What's so complicated about serving interesting fresh food for lunch?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Never, ever again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was literally the worst food I have ever eaten! Worst slowest service – we had to ask for spoons for the soup!! We didn’t get our food until 1:55 after ordering at 1pm, and the food was rank! Lukewarm tomato soup with a hunk of raw tuna in it that looked like beef fat, and warm water on the table, and prawns that tasted burnt and were lukewarm and nowhere to rinse hands when you’re done peeling them, and ratatouille that was so mushy it was like baby food - all for the pleasure of handing over $27!! Never ever again! I’m still hungry – so hungry I have a headache!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Touch of Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent atmosphere, inside or outside, high tables or low tables. The meals were sufficient and really tasty. It is not at traditional Asian restaurant but the meals in their taste and presentation have an Asian style. It was very well done and an excellent place to have a meal. Highly recommended. To add to the atmosphere it is located in the heart of Shafto Lane.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dead duck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is another perth establishment that pretends to to be hip cool and cosmopolitan. The menu looks right because I love the previous adjectives. But the duck was like a plate of gristle and at near 40 dollars a dish - admittedly they did take it off the total bill after I gave a crit on the where this cuisine originated from- it certainly wasn't French.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Kitchen also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth (Tasmania), Tasmania
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Tom's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.