We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar

Sandbar
1 Scarborough Beach Road, Scarborough, Perth, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Scarborough)
08 9245 2001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Bicton, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

have been to this venue many times in the past under the trading name of Zandas. never had a bad meal there. this time around we were a little disappointed.
the atmosphere and new setting was quite nice, very laid back and similar to Clancy's Fish Pubs.
The staff were also friendly and helpful.
my wife and I shared the serve of "fish tacos" which was quite generous for an entrée size. however, they weren't actually tacos, but a soft enchilada type wrap. Tasty enough.
For mains I had the fish and chips which was "OK" , but a cheap foreign fish was used I am certain. My wife had the Marinara linguine , which was a huge serve with a few tasteless pieces of seafood thrown in. The seafood pieces were very watery and had no flavour whatsoever, very disappointing.
we advised the table staff of the poor Marinara quality , she took our comments onboard and did not charge us for this meal. Good service !
Hopefully on our next visit we wont be disappointed.
ps: loved the Nail Stout and jug of "Summer Jug" was really good

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    11
    13
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

First up I want to thank the friendly staff, they were great!

We had a dips plate which was nice, the Mediterranean bruschetta which was superb, and a Green Room pizza, which honestly could have had more topping but still tasted nice.

There's a mame machine in the corner and our son was happy to be able to play pacman in between slices of pizza.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A singlet at 9.00pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

4 of us visited on Saturday the 24th ,three of the meals were fine, I was a little disappointed
in my Beachball pizza for the lack of topping.
I would have gladly paid an extra $5 bucks or whatever for an ample serve.Drinks and service fine.

But greatest disappointment was that at the table next to us was a guy wearing a singlet ,,come on I know it's Scarborough , hey I live there , but 9.00pm on a Saturday night in a restaurant ....some modicum of a dress standard needs to be implemented ....or may be not ! depends who want to attract !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“$6.00 for a very ordinary muffin I don't think so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We only visited this restaurant as the cafe that we planned to go to had closed. The staff were friendly and attentive and were polite when I queried the $12.00 price for a brownie! I thought it was a mistake at first but opted for the $6 muffin which was fresh and pleasant but nothing to write home about (apart from the price) and a pot of Earl Grey Tea. I was pleased that it was actual tea leaves and not a tea bag but it was so strong that you could have used it as paint stripper! The staff were happy to give me extra hot water but it still isn't the same. It's a great location with views of Scarborough Beach but there are so many other cafes that have the same views without the high price. Don't get me wrong I don't mind paying for a higher price if the quality and quantity is there but it wasn't. Great staff though but I think they're kidding themselves putting those prices on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A great location and the food and drinks were good and very reasonably priced. Friendly staff and service - can't go wrong

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar also viewed

Scarborough, Stirling
Scarborough, Stirling
 

Been to Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.