We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor & rushed service - 0 Atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CY O'Connor Village Pub

CY O'Connor Village Pub
625 Warton Road (Cnr Nicholson), Piara Waters, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #891 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Poor & rushed service - 0 Atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Felt like the poor relatives....ignored and shoved in a corner, little to no service...food edible but as we can't even remember what we had...it shows it wasn't that good. The place lacks soul, bit like a truckies cafeteria in the middle of nowhere. Went only the once.... Not willing to go again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Starting to take themselves for granted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hey Guys
If you work here or own this place you need to go back to basics...ie you changed your menu recently and the way you charge......not a good idea....have you noticed your regulars are not quite so regular anymore.
Firstly your old menu was much much more better for example Chicken Fetticine was a great menu staple now Prawns and Chorizo is trendy but not allways what is wanted especially on a week night, your steak dishes have also changed the old favourite with spinach and bacon has now been tweaked and its main accompanyment is asparagus!!!!! not everyone likes Asparagus! once again a more trendy ingredient OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOh . Also have you changed Chefs as the Garlic Bread is now either still great or depending on the night not great at all.
And last but not least with your new way of charging ie charging now for everything as a so called extra ie Prawns on top of the steak and any other veggie apart from Asparagus!!! has now added an average of $10 to $15 to each persons bill....a bit rich is this enviornment. We now alternate your place with a great hidden Gem just down the road and cheap at half the price ....maybe you need a bit more competition....this will come in time then maybe you will return to your roots!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Casual & laid-back pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very casual, laid-back atmosphere which is warm & welcoming. The service was good but a little slow. We had high expectations of the steak after reading the menu as the first 2 pages are dedicated to showcasing the quality of their steaks. My partner's steak was perfect, he shared some of his with me as mine was horrid. Totally full of gristle, and well done instead of medium rare. The redeeming factor was the waitress noticed my steak was not eaten & asked if there was a problem. When I explained why I couldn't eat it, she was genuinely surprised & apologised profusely. She went & spoke to the chef then came back & offered to deduct the cost of my meal off the bill.
The offer & her reaction assured us that it was an anomaly & has made us more inclined to dine there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CY O'Conor great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Been to CY many times, food is fabulous, very attentive service. Staff even personalised desert we bought for birthday without having to be asked. Great selection of wines. Only downfall becoming too popular hard to get reservation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shocker !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

You would get better more friendly service at Hakea Prison ! Don't waste your money at this place - they don't know how to treat people here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CY O'Connor Village Pub also viewed

Armadale, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to CY O'Connor Village Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CY O'Connor Village Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.