We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Murray Hotel Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Murray Hotel Perth to your Saves list
The Murray Hotel Perth
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   718 Murray St. | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth) (West Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingscliff NSW
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OK - but wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This establishment is really a motel, not a hotel. Stayed for 3 nights. Booked this property from Wotif because it had free parking and free internet. It was same price as other better located/quality hotels who charged for internet. Whilst the room was large enough for 3 of us (actually had 4 beds), the bathroom was very small and quite grotty. Not sure that a bottle of "Mold Away" would have fixed it. Our room was clean, but there were a couple of holes in the walls that had obviously had power points removed, and they were patched up with plaster which was unpainted. The TV was an old fashioned one - the remote did not work and the push-buttons on the TV were broken. The included breakfast is nothing more than cereal, toast , orange juice and tea/coffee. If you are used to bigger breakfasts, take one of the lower priced (not necessarily lower quality) hotels in the CBD and pay the $12-20 for the cooked breakfast. We had a meal inthe "restaurant" on our first night (it was late when we arrived). MEal was a little pricy for just a bowl of spaghetti with a splash of sauce and some grated cheese. A drink was included, but I still felt hungry after the meal. A pieces) of garlic bread would have been a good filler and would have left me satisfied. Staff was very helpful, and they know they are limited by some of the problems with property. If you are a light sleeper, then noise is the big problem as mentioned by other posters. They even have earplugs in the room, so obviously others have complained about it. There are no shops near the motel, except the "express" shop in the service station just around the corner.then I would go for one of the other CBD hotels. If you don't need internet or a parking place, then I would take one of the better properties in the CBD.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Thank you for your comments. The TVs are being replaced with flatscreen TVs & Foxtel and the hotel kitchen is being renovated with a new menu being introduced shortly. Unfortunately we are on a busy intersection and hotels can be noisy places hence the earplugs to assist to quieten sleeping time for guests. Thanks Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
26
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here for one night. The hotel has a very strong backpacker feel (down to what appear to be backpackers working the front desk!). The rooms come off corridors running the length of the building, leading to stairs at either end, that are left open during the day. I stayed on the same level as reception and there was a lot of corridor traffic which made the room quite noisy. It's almost as if the door and walls aren't there, as far as noise goes - very minimal insulation. The management is obviously well aware of this, as they have a container full of earplugs next to the containers of coffee and tea sachets. I chose not to use the earplugs which meant every time another group came back from dinner/the pub/wherever, I woke up - and got woken up very early as soon as the toilets and showers started going on my floor and the one above me in the morning. The bathroom is tiny but the hot water was fine.

On the plus side, it's cheap for Perth, it was clean, free wireless internet is great and there is a handy Shell servo just around the corner for basic supplies, and a free CAT bus stop right in front of the hotel that I caught straight to Perth city shopping centre. The included breakfast was fine - coffee bags (for the early-comers, instant sachets for the late!), fruit toast, juice, cereal etc. Bed was fine. Also I was able to use the free parking which was very handy. The tradeoff was that I only got about five hours of interrupted sleep and was quite cranky for my long drive the next day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhotel, Owner at The Murray Hotel Perth, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that you were please with your stay and I apologise for the noise you experienced. Unfortunately the age and position of the building together with other guests can make it a bit noisy and we are working on lots of things to quieten the building. Thanks Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed here to attend the football at Subiaco. Only 10 minute walk was very convienent so if you are going to a game, this location is good. The hotel itself is showing its age, although renovations are being planned. The price is a bit expensive for the quality.

Probably the biggest issue is the noise. You can hear your neighbours, doors closing etc. The big issue is there is two hospitals right next to it, so I was constantly woken by ambulances through the night. They provide ear plugs but if you have an early wake up, you might miss the alarm.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karratha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights. Great location for Subi, plus CAT stop right outside, so easy to get into main shopping area. You can buy basic meals here - but unfortunately not the best. When we stayed, there only seemed to be one person working all hours of the day, she was very polite and helpful considering all the things that were going on (manning front desk, phone calls, the bar and serving meals - what a star) I had read a previous review and was a little concerned about the expected traffic noise, however we didnt really notice it. Free internet access is a bonus. Only downside would be the very limited parking available.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed here one night for business. The outside of the hotel is very off putting and looks like a bit of a dive, but appearances can be deceiving as the inside is clean & modern. My room was large & roomy, with a king size bed and a single bed. Also there was a sofa, coffee table and a work desk. The rooms have recently been refurbished and the furniture is new and modern. A big plus for the business traveller is the free wireless high speed internet access. The only downside is the location on the corner of two very busy roads, so don't expect a pleasant lie in! I wasn't really affected as I had to be up early anyway but if you were staying here for an extended stay then I think the noise would be an issue. The hotel should really invest in some double glazing then it would be just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire U.K
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was the only vacant accomodation available in Perth that our relatives could get us late December. We had never stayed in this type of accomodation before and were rather apprehensive about it but it turned out to be very suitable for our needs - after all we only needed a bed and toilet faciliites. We stayed for various lengths in several of their rooms in transit between our travels around Australia.Dec06/Jan07. All were very clean en suite . There was a double and single bed in each room we stayed in plus table chairs, wardrobe and drawers etc. All had tea/coffee facilities, televisions and phones.. The reception was staffed from morning to mid evening and all staff were very pleasant, helpful and obliging. The laundry room was excellent. The communal lounge/diner was good. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. I actually enjoyed watching the hustle and bustle on the main road and sitting outside late evening talking to other guests. The rear garden was quite nice but the pool was too small for adults to swim in. The CAT bus stopped outside the front entrance .We will use this place again next time we stay in Perth and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed here two separate nights on way in and way out of Perth and both rooms were very clean and really good quality. The bedroom/studi area is nice and the best bed i slept on in 11 nights, and good sized TV. The bathrooms a little more basic but good sized shower, with shower curtian and tiled floor rather than those enclosed shower boxes. Good big mirror. Nice check in service, and easy to leave bags if need to. A free Cat bus service at front door! Small breakfast room/restaurant for dinner with meals such as pasta, curry - those sort of kid friendly well known meals like lasange etc. Not very gourmet but tasted nice. Included (!) breakfast is cereals and toast and juice tea/coffee only but hey it's free and fresh!

Also 2 free internet terminals in the breakfast room/bar.
The only downer is the roads, it's on the corner of 2 big ones so take some ear plugs if you sleep lightly. They worked for me and the place was quiet at night (people wise). There is a very small but nice looking pool and lounger area. And parking! I'd definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Address: 718 Murray St. | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is a friendly and welcoming 30 room hotel centrally located in West Perth. From the hotel it is only a short walk to Kings Park, Subiaco, Leederville & Subiaco Oval or a free Yellow Cat Bus ride from outside the hotel to the City Centre, Shopping District, CBD and Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Murray Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.