We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort to your Saves list
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Broome B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After reading the many unfavourable reviews we were somewhat anxious about the accommodation we booked, but trusted that The Oaks group would maintain acceptable standards. We were pleasantly surprised upon checking in ... overall pleasant accommodation and excellent value for a family visit to Broome. Only complaints ... Finger marks not cleaned off windows and doors from previous occupiers, no curtain/blind on kitchen window which faced the front of the unit (we had to stick paper to the windows for privacy), poor water flow from shower made it hard to get wet, and the lack of a restaurant even though being told it would reopen before we arrived. Positives ... Well furnished, spacious, great location, fantastic pool for children, convenient parking. Would certainly return. (Possibly the mixed reviews are due to these units being individually owned and they may not all be maintained or furnished to a similar standard ... we stayed in unit 32).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you found our resort to be of excellent value and that it was well suited to your needs. We have passed your feedback onto Housekeeping and we do apologise that the restaurant wasn’t open for service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again in the future so you can take full advantage of our newly opened facilities and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
40
44
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We got off to a rocky start we arrived at our accommodation after a long days drive and just needed to relax but found we had to sit in the car and wait for well over 20 minutes as they could not fond the keys to our unit. I found this poor organization when they knew were we're coming and they did not have them there ready for us. We had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom appartment. It was very comfortable we even had our own lap pool. The only down side was the lack of maintenance. One of the chairs on the patio was broken and was an accident waiting to happen we put the chair upside down to ensure no one sat on it. The main bathroom like the globe was blown and as the bathroom was in the middle of the building unlike the ensuite bathroom so it had no window to let in any light so you were bathing in the dark. Also the air con in the kitchen/lounge area did not work. I did report this to houskeeping when they came around and she said she would get these issues looked at but nothing happened. The kitchen and lounge furniture is very old and falling to pieces and is in need ao repair. Appartment from the lack of maintenance these were very nice units.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your recent review. We are glad that you found our apartments nice and comfortable and that you enjoyed our plunge pool apartment. We do apologise that there was a delay checking into your room, we do endeavor to have Housekeeping bring us back the keys to the units as soon as the rooms are cleaned however in busy times, there can be slight delays. In regards to the maintenance issues you experienced, we apologise that these were not actioned during your stay. We do encourage any maintenance issues to be reported to Front Desk so we can quickly rectify any problems.
Over the coming months we will be replacing and upgrading the furniture in the rooms as we do acknowledge that some of the furniture is tired and in need of replacement. We do hope we can welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The 2 bedroom apartment is probably the best value in broome.... For approx 230 a night compared to a caravan park at 200 a night this is excellent. Clean, new, great facilities and an excellent front desk.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found our rooms to be of great value. Over the coming months we will be doing further upgrades to enhance our reception area and with the restaurant opening this month we are looking forward to offering our guests more facilities and services. Keep an eye out for our great summer packages to be released soon with great rates and more! We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Would like to know why many people who are lazing and swimming in the pool are not guests of this resort. Seems a bit unfair that they are using the facilities and sun loungers that paying guests are unable to access because of these people.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. As we are lucky to have one of the best pools in Broome, it is difficult at times to manage any 'non guests' who decide to visit the resort for a swim. We do check the pools on a regular basis but due to the large size and many access points to the pool area, it can be hard to control. Guest comfort is very important to us and it is vital that our paying guests have access to all of our facilities. I apologise if at times there were no sun lounges available to you, both myself and the team will endeavour to monitor this a lot more closely. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Considering the prices of everything else in Cable Beach, I didn't think it was too bad at all. The room was neat, self contained
And nicely fitted out. They have fox as well which is good if you want to watch the football. :)
It's a bit of a walk to the beach but definitely worth the walk. One of the nicest beachs going around. Even has a surf.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment neat and good value. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the location and the walk to the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Recently went to Broome for the first time and had a week at the Oaks. The first room we got was ground floor and quite dark, so not great for a holiday in the sun. We did ask to move and the staff were incredibly helpful doing this, and eventually got a much better room overlooking the pool. The good points are it is a great location, awesome pool area and friendly staff. The rooms were average, furnishings a bit on the cheap side and quite small beds. What really let it down was the cleanliness, we got a daily sevice which was minimal, sometimes they did no even make the bed. Even when we checked in the room was not overly clean, even a beer bottle and rubbish left on the balcony....and the shower did not look as though it was ever cleaned. I think the Oaks has great potential, was good to have a full kitchen as not much dining options but they just need a good spring clean in the rooms and a bit of a refurb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort. It was great to read that we were able to assist in moving you to a more comfortable apartment and you found the location of our hotel convenient. In regards to the housekeeping issues you experienced, I will pass you comments onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager for their immediate attention. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Extremely disappointed with the resort have stayed there five times before and have had a great time by the pool, bar and restaurant etc. however this time we were not advised that the ba and restaurant were under renovation. We booked over the phone and were not told any of this. The pool was freezing and we are from Tasmania!!!! We were overcharged for the stay there is no way this resort is up to scratch it would be lucky to be 3 star we will never stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and we are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. As the restaurant and bar has been closed for almost a year and a half and the property has only been part of our port folio for six months, we have been working as quickly as we can to re-open this facility to our guests. We do apologise that you were not notified of the renovations in place at the time of your booking and we have raised this issue with the relevant department. 

In regards to the swimming pools, as we do live in the tropics and for much of the year it is extremely hot there are only a few weeks of the year where the pool does get quite cold. The heating of the pool during this period has been raised and we are looking towards a solution for the future. Over the coming months we will be working hard to further upgrade the rooms, reception and our facilities to ensure that we present the best possible product. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Oaks CBS in the future so you can take full advantage of these improvements. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features elegant modern designs which draw on traditional Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.