We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag at the sanctuary!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort to your Saves list
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Broome B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mixed bag at the sanctuary!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Recently went to Broome for the first time and had a week at the Oaks. The first room we got was ground floor and quite dark, so not great for a holiday in the sun. We did ask to move and the staff were incredibly helpful doing this, and eventually got a much better room overlooking the pool. The good points are it is a great location, awesome pool area and friendly staff. The rooms were average, furnishings a bit on the cheap side and quite small beds. What really let it down was the cleanliness, we got a daily sevice which was minimal, sometimes they did no even make the bed. Even when we checked in the room was not overly clean, even a beer bottle and rubbish left on the balcony....and the shower did not look as though it was ever cleaned. I think the Oaks has great potential, was good to have a full kitchen as not much dining options but they just need a good spring clean in the rooms and a bit of a refurb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort. It was great to read that we were able to assist in moving you to a more comfortable apartment and you found the location of our hotel convenient. In regards to the housekeeping issues you experienced, I will pass you comments onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager for their immediate attention. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    39
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
45
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Extremely disappointed with the resort have stayed there five times before and have had a great time by the pool, bar and restaurant etc. however this time we were not advised that the ba and restaurant were under renovation. We booked over the phone and were not told any of this. The pool was freezing and we are from Tasmania!!!! We were overcharged for the stay there is no way this resort is up to scratch it would be lucky to be 3 star we will never stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and we are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. As the restaurant and bar has been closed for almost a year and a half and the property has only been part of our port folio for six months, we have been working as quickly as we can to re-open this facility to our guests. We do apologise that you were not notified of the renovations in place at the time of your booking and we have raised this issue with the relevant department. 

In regards to the swimming pools, as we do live in the tropics and for much of the year it is extremely hot there are only a few weeks of the year where the pool does get quite cold. The heating of the pool during this period has been raised and we are looking towards a solution for the future. Over the coming months we will be working hard to further upgrade the rooms, reception and our facilities to ensure that we present the best possible product. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Oaks CBS in the future so you can take full advantage of these improvements. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a studio room the week of the Broome Cup, room was comfy and clean and accommodated our needs as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Only let down was making own bed and no replenishment of tea coffee milk but I had read this in earlier review so did take some in my luggage. Bedding and towels were changed on 5th day of our stay. Our room did not have a very good view from veranda, looked out onto vacant bush but other rooms in front would have better views but this did not bother us as we didn't spend any time on veranda as we were out every day. Hotel grounds were very beautiful and well kept. Foxtel was available on TV and restaurant was opening next week we were told by reception staff. Hotel was close to other restaurants and beach and Divers Tavern a little further, not too far to walk home, bus stop out front of hotel if you needed to get to Broome town. Own parking for each room, would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: take extra tea/coffee and beach towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at Oaks CBS. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your studio and our in-room facilities to accommodate your needs. We are also happy that you found the resort location to be of convenience and we thank you for complimenting our beautiful grounds and gardens. I do apologise however that your room was not serviced during your stay and I have forwarded your comments onto our Housekeeping department for further review. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Oaks CBS again for another enjoyable stay and to welcome you to our new 'Cables Restaurant and Bar.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place to stay, close to good pub and not far from Beach. But the price was high ring ahead and get a quote. Around Broome Cup time rates go through the roof normally weekend of 17-19 of August. 3 bed apartments have their own pool and BBQ on back deck.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your much valued feedback. Prices are quite high during the Broome Cup period, this prestigious event sees people from all over Western Australia and as far as the East Coast attend the race weekend and accommodation during this period in Broome is fully booked. We are very happy that you found our 3 bedroom plunge pool villas and their in-room facilities and features to satisfy your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again soon. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very clean and comfortable resort, consistent with other quality Oaks resorts. I stayed in the studio type room which was quite large for the expected equivalent. Fantastic courtyard which got some great afternoon sun. Deck chairs were a great touch. The place has evidently undergone a continuing revamp, im guessing making some of the negative reviews redundant. I'd comfortably recommend this property to friends and family

Susan at reception is to be commended on her high level of service.I had some special requests with trailer parking and arrived late in the evening, It was refreshing to be greeted with a smile and can-do attitude so late in the evening after a long day of driving.

Great pools, handy yet quiet location makes this a great base to explore Broome.

Good showers, immaculately clean, fast wifi and hassle free service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
A very big thank you from the team at Oaks CBS for your recent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Oaks experience. It is great to read that the studio room was suited to your needs and you were able to take full advantage of our beautiful pools, resort facilities and the location.

Providing a high level of customer service is very important to the Oaks experience and we are very lucky to have the team that we do, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Susan. We also thank you and appreciate your acknowledgment of the improvements we are making around the resort, we are working hard to ensure that we provide the best possible product to all of our guests and to further improve our guests comfort and the facilities available to them. If in future, you return to Broome we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here back in September 2009 around the time the resort first changed hands from Rendezvous to Accor Grand Mecure. Despite them bailing out then, it's gone down hill even further since and unfortunately the new management under Oaks isn't any better. This is no way near the 4.5 star rating they claim to have.

Things are falling apart and there seems to be very little being done about it. The pool is half closed and despite us staying here for well over a week, we recieved no word as to why, and saw no work being done to put it back into full service. The pool was absolutely freezing, unswimmable in fact. The ocean was also cool but still a far more pleasant temperature! They claim to have Foxtel, which would have been nice while the Olympics was on, but it wasn't installed and no apology given. No biggie, we weren't here to watch TV, but it's just one more thing in a long line of others.

The apartments are grubby and run-down. And it wasn't just our apartment, while waiting at reception one day I saw one guest place an A4 long list of maintenance required on their apartment. The service is abysmal, with reception staff sloppy and completely disinterested, and even seeking to charge us for a 12pm check-out. Cleaners do the very bare minimum, and while the gardens seem to be well kept, other things like the BBQ area was always grotty. And I can't see them taking any more care with the restaurant when it eventually opens.

It's just a shame really, because the resort design was good when everything was in service and more care was shown, and the apartments were well designed and constructed. But now things look very tired with loose tiles, markings and grime around the place, cheap and worn out furniture, cheap and incomplete kitchen facilities, etc., etc.. The kitchen and laundry facilties are nevertheless still handy, and the location is still good of course, with the resort within an easy 15 min walk to cable beach and the Zeebar restaurant around the corner is busy and well worth a visit for a good meal as well as Zanders and the Cable Beach Club restaurants.

But don't be fooled if you're told everything is back up to scratch. It will take A LOT of time and money to restore this place back to 4 stars, let alone 4.5! Management need to be more up front and just show more care, and you should pay accordingly until this place ever re-earns its stripes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked over the internet not knowing what to expect. Yes, we read other reviews which were not favourable but we'll find out for ourselves. And the result . . . well, we had a great experience. Unpacked and checked the apartment - got everything we needed to make meals, etc, even a BBQ on the veranda. We backed on the caravan park but it was still quiet and peaceful. A short walk took us to the pool and yes, it was a bit cold but it was WA winter time. Only the spa was available, we eventually saw some progress on the restaurant that was being renovated. The reception was friendly and there was some brochures available to puruse at leisure. We had a hire vehicle but the bus stop was just a short walk from the driveway. We were on holidays so we took our time getting ready in the morning and made our own breakfast so housekeeing worked around us. We also had some dinners in the apartment as well as bought takeaway - Broome shopping was pretty easy once you find your way around. One day, we had no water so after enquiring at the desk, they knew about the issue and were working quickly to resolve it, and hey presto, it was fixed by noon. It was handy having a washing machine and dryer in the apartment - it meant we didn't pack as much and washed clothes. It would have been handy if the resort had beach towels even though we brought our own. Would recommend this resort to families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features elegant modern designs which draw on traditional Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.