We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the outdoor shower and private patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Hai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Murray Rd, Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Perth, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the outdoor shower and private patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Bali Hai from 9th -13th August 2012. I made the selection based on price and comfort, especially privacy. I was not disappointed! Was upgraded to a Deluxe Studio, which was huge, and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large, with a freestanding bath, as well as a double shower. Absolutely LOVED the outdoor shower, it was fabulous. The outdoor patio was very private, but I found the furniture uncomfortable and dated. The kitchen is well equipped but a little dated and looks tired. A dishwasher would be a bonus. The grounds are lovely and absolutely immaculate, congrats to the gardeners. My suite was also spotlessly clean. Easy walk along the main road to Cable Beach, and the Divers Bar is just around the corner. Simply loved being there, and I WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali H, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is valuable to us as we endeavour to not only maintain but improve our service and product. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bali Hai Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
114
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This property is a good choice for your Broome holiday. Lovely pool and spacious villas. Not too many to be crowded. The general store, tavern and beach are in walking distance though you walk through the sanddunes to get to the beach. The spa is fantastic (though, like everything in Broome, expensive).Following checkout you are welcome to use the pool and bathrooms during the day. Next door at Pincata is a lovely restaurant and villas have kitchens for self catering. Lots of tourist information.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali H, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We first stayed at Bali Hai for 5 days last year in August. It's so welcoming, relaxing,beautiful gardens and pool and a great outdoor shower. We love the laid back feel of Bali Hai and are returning there in 10 days. It's just a casual stroll from Cable Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and set around a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali H, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bali Hai Resort & Spa. We hope your recent stay with us was as enjoyable as your last visit to Broome and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Bali Hai on the last night of our Broome holiday after spending the previous week camping. The receptionist was very friendly and accommodating particularly considering we made our booking at the last minute.

The room was well appointed and the outdoor bathroom was fantastic. We invited my parents over for dinner and cooked a barbecue in our private courtyard. The staff provided some extra chairs and wine glasses without any fuss.

We definitely hope to stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali H, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bali Hai Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second visit to Broome. Our family of 5 were in a 2 bedroom villa with kids upstairs with outdoor bathroom and an open plan kitchen, lounge and queen bed downstairs. There was another open air bathroom with washing machine downstairs. Outside was a BBQ and table.
Things we liked
*pool was lovely and had lots of lounges
*gardens
*outdoor bathrooms for something different
*lemongrass tea and cold towels on arrival. Kathryn was very pleasant
Things we didn't like
*we could hear aeroplanes from 530 every morning
*queen bed was too soft and was under a window which made reading in bed uncomfortable
*being charged for laundry powder. We paid nearly $500 a night and stayed for a week yet we were told we were only entitled to 1 sachet. Only a small issue, but it's no wonder so many Australians go to Bali rather than Bali Hai!!
*the only table to eat at was outside and some mornings it was too cold
*no dishwasher
Bali Hai is probably better for couples rather than families
Bali Hai is

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali H, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bali Hai Resort & Spa. Your feedback is valuable to us as we endeavour to not only maintain but improve our service and product.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the pool, tropical surrounds and our signature outdoor bathrooms. We take great pride in our staff and your comments have been passed onto Kathryn.

Although we are keen to refine our service where we can, there are some things that are out of our control. As the airport is located in the centre of Broome, planes are a part of everyday life. Some people find the planes an issue and other do not notice them.

If you choose to revisit Bali Hai Resort & Spa, our staff are available from 7:00am to 8:00pm and would be happy to place the tables and chairs inside at any time for you. We also have additional seating available.

Bali Hai Resort & Spa provides well maintained gardens and pool facilities. The nightly rate includes complimentary wireless internet, Foxtel, car parking and usage of laundry facilities. All of which, is expensive to maintain. Two Room Villas are $438.00 per night without extras in the peak season which, management considers to be reasonable. Please note the tariffs do reduce substantially during the quieter months especially from mid-October until the end of March.

During your stay with us the weather was unseasonably cool. For most of the year, Broome basks in temperatures of 30°C and higher. The Bali Hai Resort & Spa has been designed to make the most of Broome’s tropical climate and we hope that one day you will return to enjoy Broome’s weather at its best.

Thank you again for your feedback and should you return to Broome, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Bali Hai Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have penned a few thoughts about my whirlwind visit to Broome, so here it goes again.

Totally love the front desk service and Tracey. She is an absolute credit to Bali Hai. Full or energy and vim, and in love with her job. I wanted to stay there just because of her.

I learnt that the Bali Hai was voted number one amongst locals: their place to go when they needed a break. And I can see why. Loved the manicured gardens and heated pool (which I didn't use). Loved the seclusion and oasis feel. But hated the fact that a storm was passing through and I was bloody freezing.

I'll explain.

The Bali Hai is what is says: Bali. But it is a bit dated on the Bali theme and when your bathroom is outside, albeit private, and you are freezing your buns off, it is not a nice place to shower and do other things, even if you do love the outdoors and sharing the toilet with a tree frog.

I wished, oh wished it was hot weather like Broome normally is, but my trip was tainted by 34 knot winds and ...well....you can kind of get the gist. I felt like a vagrant for not venturing outside except when nature called.

That being said, the Bali Hai is an awesome location. The spa looks amazing. Yet there is no on site bar or restaurant. We walked the 100 metres to the Pinctada for happy hour cocktails and the Divers Tavern for food (best ribs I've ever had). So it looses on the Bali entertainment theme there. Nothing but a room in the Inn.

And I didn't really like the fact that each unit is somewhat secluded, yet if you were walking past, your could actually see anyone in their unit and full glory. You can pull a curtain over the door but not the main lounge window. Not good for nude walking.

These are mini pet hates and I would still rate the place for any stay in Broome. My room was spacious and functional but not much more than that. I could see it being brilliant in warm weather but not when it is windy and cold. At least it had great sachet coffee and that made up for my grim toilet run and feeding the tree frog in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Fantastic place to stay, if you want a bit of luxury, away from the 'busy' parts of Broome. High class of room, good service and reasonable prices. Recommend highly

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bali Hai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Bali Hai Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Resort & Spa

Address: 6 Murray Rd, Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#3 Luxury Hotel in Broome
#3 Family Hotel in Broome
#4 Spa Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Hai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the lush tropical gardens of the Bali Hai Resort & Spa, and it only takes you a few minutes to sense that you have chosen a unique experience. The self contained Asian-influenced villas celebrate Broome’s multicultural character, whilst offering privacy, courtyards, and the luxury of showering under the stars in your private open air “Mandi” bathroom.Nestled in the natural tropical surrounds of the Bali Hai Resort lies the unique Bali Hai Day Spa where you’re offered an exclusive range of health and beauty therapies that are as unique as the Australian outback and as exotic as the island of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bali Hai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Hotel Broome
Bali Hai Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.