We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend Ocean Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broome-Time Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Broome-Time Accommodation to your Saves list
Broome-Time Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cable Beach Road East, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia (Formerly Broome-Time Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend Ocean Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed at Ocean Lodge with a friend for 5 nights and then 1 night at the completion of a package tour. The hotel was clean, comfortable, had cooking facilities but certainly not five star. Very close to a shopping centre - walking distance and a bus stop right outside the door to go to Cable Beach or into town. We were able to leave our big suitcases whilst on tour (and take a smaller bag) and collect on our return. What made our stay so special was the staff - Brad and Melissa were so helpful and went out of our way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. If you are looking for a reasonable price (not quite possible in Broome) without all the bells and whistles this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
39
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I have just returned from a weeks stay in Broome. Fantastic experience - What an interesting place. I recommed the $99 Scenic Flight over the area as well as the Town Tour which puts everything into perspective. I enjoyed the Pearl Lugger sunset cruise - just magnificent to watch from the water overlooking Town Beach. Lots of shops to explore and very easy to drift into Broome Time.
Our accommodation at Ocean Lodge was budget but all we needed as we only slept there and had a quick breakfast and spent the day exploring the area. The rooms are adequete and the grounds/pool are quite lovely. The staff are great especially Melissa and Brad the Managers. Couldn't do enough for us. I thoroughly recommend Broome and the Ocean Lodge Motel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Broome is a very special place, it is also a very remote place. For that reason (I assume) everything in broome costs more than it would in any other part of Australia. Hotels are no different when it comes to this basic rule. For that reason, the Ocean Lodge is a good choice. Although it is not glamorous or particularly pretty, the hotel is very functional and has one of the cheapest price tags in the area.

The location is good overall being about half-way between Cable Beach and the town. I would highly recommend having a car as they are not really walking distance to anything (except the aquasports centre across the road). There is a bus, but we didn't use this so I can't tell you if it is any good.

Our room was comfortable - actually a very comfortable bed - but mostly functional and not overly attractive. I've seen other people mention the kitchen and there are also bbq facilities that are on the property and nice to use.

The people at the front desk were good overall and had lots of info. There were lots of families staying here so kids and stuff would all be comfortable.

As I said at the top, Broome is a very special place and completely worth a visit. If yoúr budget isn't very high then this hotel is a good choice (its also close to the airport - but no plane noise).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We booked well in advance - thankfully, as Broome was booked solid for most of the month. We arrived late owing to our scenic flight in Derby being delayed due to fog (nb I do NOT recommend ever driving in the Kimberley at night - with the loose cattle and the road trains it was a terrifying experience). It took a liitle while to get the night manager to hear the buzzer, but he could not have been more helpful once he did - he and a friend helped us move all our luggage from the car to the room - no little undertaking as we had been on the move for ten days and we were changing cars in Broome.
The upstairs rooms and the long walk to the parking area would be our main complaints (I was travelling with an elderly parent). The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We didn't find the noise from the central pool area too unpleasant. As the review for Broome says everything is very close, and Ocean Lodge is central to everything. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — good facilities and central
  • Disliked — no drive on access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnbro, Perth, WA, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

We decided to head north to escape the cold Perth weather. Broome is crowded this time of the year but luckily for us there was a cancelation at Ocean Lodge just before we phoned to book in. Ocean Lodge was great value for the money. We had a room upstairs at the back overlooking the tropical garden and pool. Although situated on a main road we didn't hear the traffic from our room. The unit consisted of a bedroom, bathroom, small kitchen and a family room with two single beds (trundles underneath also), dining table, tv (in house movies). All staff were very friendly and helpful. The unit was very clean. Rooms are serviced daily. Ocean Lodge is situated half way between Roebuck Bay and Cable Beach so we hired a car to get around. Since we only had 5 days to see everything we did the double decker bus tour - this was helpful in planning what to see and do in Broome. We could mark things on our map that we wanted to go back and have a look at in more detail. We did the Camel ride on Cable Beach, Hovercraft tour over Roebuck Bay (to see the dinasaur footprints), Bus tour, Sun Pictures, Chinatown, Japanese Cemetery, Crocodile Farm and Museums. There are fabulous restaurants which cater to all tastes. Everywhere we went the people were polite, friendly and helpful. Broome is expensive but a great holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

We stayed for two nights. Our room was adequate without being lavish. It had a small kitchen, which was a plus as we could make our own lunches (cheaper that way) and do toast etc. for breakfast. The room was clean and well maintained, but the entry from an exterior "veranda" was a little less salubrious. Our room had a small balcony/veranda at the front which overlooked the lush tropical gardens. It also faced Cable Beach Road. Since the resort is on the corner of Cable Beach Road and Port Road, the traffic does get quite heavy at times. However, while we were aware of it, it was dampened somewhat by the trees and gardens and never became unbearable. It is a fair way out of town, though, and there are no shops close by. A car is almost an essential if staying here, though public transport is available. You could walk to Cable Beach in about 30 minutes from here. The room was clean, cool, the bed comfortable and the shower clean with plenty of hot water. What more can you really ask for?

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broome-Time Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome-Time Accommodation

Address: 1 Cable Beach Road East, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia (Formerly Broome-Time Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broome-Time Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome-Time accommodation & Art Gallery is centrally located on the Broome Peninsula between Cable Beach to the West and China Town/Roebuck Bay and Old Broome to the east. Our 58 self contained studio, family and king studio rooms are set amongst established gardens around a sparkling free form pool with a spacious outdoor garden dining area with free use gas BBQs, ideal for socialising with family and friends. In 2014 an Art Gallery specialising in Kimberley Art, Aboriginal Artifacts, Didgeridoo's and gifts. We are continually aiming to improve the property and facilities whilst providing a warm and friendly environment for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Broome-Time Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broome-Time Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.