We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Lane Cafe

Shady Lane Cafe
Johnny Chi Lane, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
+61 8 9192 2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Broome
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: A friendly cafe situated in the outdoors in Broome.Open 0700 hrs 7 days for an all day breakfast and for lunch and during the week remaining open for afternoon teas
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When it is hot, what could be better than a shady pleasant place to sit and enjoy some refreshment? That is the Shady lane café and I enjoyed lunch and brunch here on two different days. The service was prompt and competent. The food was delicious and the iced coffee one of the best I have had. However I was not so taken with the juice drink that I chose as it was very sour and acidic even though it had coconut milk as a component.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cafe in the quiet shade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had both breakfast and lunch on different days a week apart. We had quite reasonable service, unlike some of the recent postings. Johnny Chi Lane is not a street, just a shaded shopping connector between two of the streets in the old Chinatown of Broome. There are multiple entrances, but the courtyard in the middle is Shady Lane. We had some typical full brekkie plates with plenty of toast and eggs, but the barramundi in the fish plate was exceptional. Nice fruit smoothies from the adjacent smoothy stand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best lattes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

On our first day in Broome, we had a very pleasant lunch at Shady Lane Cafe. We arrived a bit after the brunch crowd so were able to find a nice shady table in the courtyard. Our lunches were yummy - we shared a barramundi plate and a huge chickpea pumpkin salad which were delicious. Our experience was so nice that we decided to return there for breakfast a week later after our Kimberley tour. We are early birds so we were the very first ones to be seated and our nice hot frothy lattes came up pronto. We enjoyed them so much that we ordered a second cup which is unusual for us. We ordered hearty veggie omelets which were excellent. One of our favorite memories of Broome will include the Shady Lane Cafe where we spent the perfect morning relaxing over the Sunday paper and our lattes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Sloooooooooow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had lunch here on our first day in Broome. The food took ages to arrive; we could tell that people at other tables were annoyed too. The food was quite nice when it did arrive though. Maybe the kitchen just had a bad day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A long and disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Convinced my family to go there instead of their preference Big Mistake - service was extremely unfriendly and one staff member - no name badge - extremely rude. Food was nice when it eventually arrived almost an hour for three toasted sandwiches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Lane Cafe also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Shady Lane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Lane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.