We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression last” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Lane Cafe

Shady Lane Cafe
Johnny Chi Lane, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
+61 8 9192 2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Broome
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: A friendly cafe situated in the outdoors in Broome.Open 0700 hrs 7 days for an all day breakfast and for lunch and during the week remaining open for afternoon teas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First impression last”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The meal was not that great we order seafood platter with 2 prawns, 2 squid, 1 prawn twister, 2 coated scallop burn in the outside and raw inside,(frozen) barra fillet, chips, we paid $28 for these. Steak sandwich was awful the place have potential, menu need more fresh food , better presentation and staff needs training. Coffee is great thats why we order another one for takeaway this is the only thing I enjoy on this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we found this cafe after wandering around the shops aimlessly. we were greeted by friendly wait staff, and they were attentive. our smoothies and juices were delicious and refreshing. our food came in big portions, but it was all delicious. we'd definitely come here again for lunch. prices were steep, but it's Broome

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
“Best Food and Service In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited again (as we found the food and service fantastic previously) on the morning of Broome Cup. The place was flat out, we were greeted as we walked in seated straight away and the staff were very polite.
Ordered coffees and food and the kids ordered "Make your own" Smoothies. All food was great and came out nice and quick, poached eggs were cooked to perfection and my wifes eggs Benedict were superb. Top coffee, the Barista is very good and always rely on a good coffee here.
The lady in charge came an had a chat and ensured everything was all ok and was a pleasure to deal with.
The whole experience was A1 would recommend too anyone coming to Broome to pop in and enjoy the food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ambience in the courtyard with lovely helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great coffee yummy food and relaxed atmosphere to write your postcards.Love the friendly staff. Thanks for the travel tips Deb, really helped me make the most of my trip. Love my pearls!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have been here a few times and thoroughly enjoy there breakfast menu with the fresh juice shop next door providing the drinks. Awesome food and lovely venue.
However the service is quite slack. Staff are very friendly but walk around like zombies not caring about taking orders from patrons. While we waited a hour for breaky we watched two couples come AND go after waiting for half an hour for service. we even told the staff about one couple and they still choose not to serve them.. Mmmmm feed me brains...... Oh.. and they forget our second cup of coffee.. twice.. Braaainnns

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Lane Cafe also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Shady Lane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Lane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.