We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not TOO bad...but not fantastic!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Mac's Burger Bar

Lord Mac's Burger Bar
2 Challenor Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
08 9192 8428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 52 restaurants in Broome
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Broome, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“not TOO bad...but not fantastic!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ive only tried one of the burgers here (the lord mac) which i thought was delicious...however my friends were less impressed with their choices. To be fair though, it was opening day and very busy so im sure the staff were a little overwhelmed!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    30
    22
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had burgers from lord macs a couple of weeks after it was opened, over all just worth the money and nothing more. Their claim as "Broomes finest burgers" is almost farcical, the term "finest" implies a certain amount of class, something these burgers were definitely lacking.
We will start with the bun, it was absolutely uninspired in its cushiony whiteness, adding little or no flavour or enjoyment overall to the burger itself.
Delving a little deeper, the guts of this burger where borderline "fine", I had the "pinctata maxima" which boasts such finenesses as rib eye steak, bacon, caramelised onion and the bulk standard salads. The steak itself wasn't too bad, a little small for the bun but over all well cooked and my favourite cut of beef. The rest of the burger was lacking though. Jared over sweet caramelised onion, sloppy iceberg lettuce and a couple of slices of tomatoes does not a "fine burger" make.
It seems that the most common of complaints about burgers in general are all present and blatant in the newest addition to Broomes culinary repertoire.
Over all the meal I consumed was fine, certainly not fine art fine, more like punched in the guts and trying to convince your buddies you are fine fine.
I would certainly come back to eat the burgers as the value is still a good (two burgers, one of which was modified for $26) and the food was fine. However at the same time I will tell people not to get their hopes up.
I understand that this is a new restaurant and it will only get better while it goes through its teething stages.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buns let them down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lord Mac's claim to have the best burgers in Broome is let down by a horrible soft sweet bun that would be better at home at Macdonalds. The meat patty in mine was really small about one third the size of the bun too. The taste was nice and the menu is cheap for Broome prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broome
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“burgers are better at hungry jacks......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

was excited for the opening of this new burger joint, but was left with a bad taste in my mouth. nothing gourmet at all about these burger, just fancy names with average ingredients at ridiculous prices, basically a hungry jacks whopper on a plate with a red serviette.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Gourmet Burgers in Broome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is exactly the sort of food that Broome has been screaming out for. Beautiful beef, chicken, fish & vege burgers at a great price. The burgers are sensational, all cooked to order with some nice gourmet twists on your standard. You can add ingredients such as avocardo, fetta, brie, mushrooms which are not readily available at most burger bars, especially in Broome
I have already tried 4 burgers from their menu & all have been fantastic. The Aussie with its beetroot & pineapple, The Big Cheese wth double cheese & BBQ sauce, The Luggers Lot, with the works & a really tasty aioli & The Pinctada Maxima which is their staek burger using real scotch fillet.
I enjoyed all of them but my favourite is The Big Cheese that I have now had a number of times.
I would recommend this place to anyone who visits Broome, who is after a great, tasty burger, right opposite Cable Beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Mac's Burger Bar also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Lord Mac's Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Mac's Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.