We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mangrove Hotel to your Saves list
Mangrove Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Carnarvon Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Addis Ababa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights requesting a quiet place to have a rest. I got an upgrade to a bay view room and was very happy with the room and peaceful surroundings.
The gentle stroll to the town center makes this hotel the perfect choice if you don’t have a car and after walking in the heat, the pool was a refreshing relief.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. With the bars and restaurants on site, this was a perfect place to stay in Broome.

Room Tip: bay view room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kate C

Thank you for your review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, Yes if its peace that your looking for the view across Roebuck Bay is a real tonic.
I wish my doctor would order me a stay at the Mangrove

We look forward to serving you again in the future

Regards

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
33
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Mangrove is refurbishing all their rooms. They are very comforatble and look clean and tidy. The beds are really comfortable and the new decor is bright. A nice upgrade is always a bonus. The food is also fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good morning Greg

Thank you very much for posting your review, it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Yes the rooms are looking and feeling so much better now that the refurbishment program is completed and we are grateful that our customers are noticing the big changes and hard work that has gone into the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time staying in Mangrove after hearing good reports after its renovation.
I booked in for 2 nights and upon checking in we were'nt disappointed with the room, beautifully styled and a great bathroom!
The food and drinks were fantastic, and you couldn't have a better view! The staff were all fantastic with particular mention to the lady called Skye who checked us in at reception, her bubbly personality is contageous and was super helpful throughout our stay!
Overall i will definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear orlavr6

Thank you very much for posting your review, we are always very grateful that our guests recognise the effort that has gone into making this a great place to stay.
We are fortunate with the team of people we have working here, they do genuinely care and reviews like yours give them the support to keep doing what they are doing in the knowledge that somebody else notices.

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here numerous times. Fabulous updated rooms, two crystal clear pools, great staff, lovely food, close to town and from the bar you have the best view in Broome over looks a bay fantastic at sunset. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Taffie80

Thank you so much for your review
We like to think that you were spot on,
Your review is exactly as we would wish for people to see our little oasis in Broome

Look forward to seeing you back from Derby soon

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

October 2014, I was booked into the Mangrove Hotel for a Tourism meeting, this is not somewhere I would have booked on my own. But was pleasantly surprised, the rooms have been recently upgraded and were new and fresh. Good size TV and movie channels. Shower was great and the bed very comfortable, with two nights great sleep. Perfect location close to town, easy 10 min walk if you don't have a car. Views of the bay with mangroves is a must see with the bar and food with a killer view. Food however is a little on the ordinary side pizza was terrible under cooked and bland. beef burger was dry and just not sexy. Overall rating 6.5 out of 10.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room across from the pool on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Bazz H

Thank you for your review
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us a great deal of work has gone into the general improvement of the property.
The rooms as you say are now beautiful and its great that you noticed
On the subject of the food I am very sorry that you did not receive the quality that our guests have come to expect.
We have a great kitchen team and I make no excuses, consistency is everything and if only one person is not satisfied neither are we.
I know that many people have great things to say about the food and again I am sorry that your experience did not make you one of them

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Creek, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I stayed here during the Broome Race round in 2012 as part of work and the place was terrible. This stay I was so happy with everything. The location is fantastic overlooking the ocean with the awesome grassed areas.
The rooms are now all renovated, beautiful bathrooms and amazing bedrooms. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Chelsea H

It is great to welcome some of our Kimberley residents to the hotel and thank you so much for your very positive review.
We are very proud of the improvements that we have made in the property over the last twelve months and it is really nice that the hard work that the team here has put in was noticeable to you.

Thank you once again we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Broome

Glyn Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I am a seasoned traveller and was so pleased to stay in what I rate as one of the best hotels.

My mother and I stayed at the Mangrove Hotel last week and had a wonderful experience there.
The staff were exceptional in their service and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were exceptionally clean, view of Roebuck Bay was stunning and food delicious. It all added to a most memorable time in Broome.

Thank you to Glenn and his staff, whom I believe when over and above "the call of duty" and for making our stay so enjoyable.

Therese K.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMRH, General Manager at Mangrove Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Therese

Thank you for posting this review,
It was indeed a pleasure to meet both yourself and Mum and I am delighted that you both had a good time.

Come back and visit us again soon

Glyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Hotel

Address: 47 Carnarvon Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangrove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mangrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Hotel Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.