We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Broome to your Saves list
Mercure Broome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good basic hotel, friendly staff, in a very old hotel. It's clean and the average rating is due to its very tired looking hotel. Clean rooms, food a bit average, but the staff make this a very pleasant hotel stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear BenjaminS,

thankyou for sharing your feedback on the Mercure Broome. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that the staff made your stay a great one.

We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Broome.
Kind Regards
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    113
    108
    40
    19
See reviews for
41
144
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a couple of particularly traumatic weeks our 5 night stay at Mercure Broome was the perfect restorative experience. The hotel and indeed the location just have a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, and the helpful and friendly nature of the staff at Mercure just completes the "tonic". A viewing of the "Staircase to the moon" at Town Beach was the "icing on the cake".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear RodGosford,

I am delighted to hear about your stay at the Mercure Broome. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely feedback with us. I am really glad you were here to see the staircase to the moon as it is such a beautiful sight to see.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Broome.

Kind Regards,
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay of one night in this hotel. You need a car and fortunately we had one so we could drive to cable beach and the places to see in Broome. The pool is attractive and very welcome by the heat. Wifi is again and again a problem, it is not working in the rooms and it is not free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear MarieStar 51

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay at Mercure Broome. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are in the process of sourcing a new WIFI provider to improve our WIFI coverage, so this should be no longer a problem soon.

Thank you once again for your comments

Karen Gibson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnamurra, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

One of the original hotels in Broome (The Continental) and recently refurbished. Accor upgraded us to a Privilege room overlooking Roebuck Bay. It was lovely! The restaurant was good with large servings of food and plenty of choice. Secure off street parking and walking distance to the CBD if you wanted to. Free wifi in our room. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. Huge aboriginal mural painting outside Reception was a feature.

Room Tip: Join Accor Advantage Plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Cliff M,

thanks so much for your lovely feedback regarding your stay with us. We always try and reward our loyal Advantage Plus members so I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your upgrade. I will share your comments regarding the staff with our team also.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in Broome.

Kind Regards
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

On tour with a group, not impressed with this place, room cluttered and dark, house keeping not up to a good standard, food was supposed to be a buffet dinner not much to choose from . On a good note the staff were very friendly.Would look for other accommodation if visiting Broome again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Aileen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Broome. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, but pleased to hear the staff were very friendly. We do take your feedback seriously and will address the concerns you raised with the relevant managers.

Thanks again for your feedback, and if you would like to discuss it in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Broome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Broome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.