We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Broome to your Saves list
Mercure Broome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    113
    108
    40
    19
See reviews for
41
144
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

On tour with a group, not impressed with this place, room cluttered and dark, house keeping not up to a good standard, food was supposed to be a buffet dinner not much to choose from . On a good note the staff were very friendly.Would look for other accommodation if visiting Broome again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Aileen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Broome. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, but pleased to hear the staff were very friendly. We do take your feedback seriously and will address the concerns you raised with the relevant managers.

Thanks again for your feedback, and if you would like to discuss it in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Our room ( I think a Deluxe room) was very nice and large but the aircon was too loud to use and you have to run around in the shower to get wet.
The staff member who checked us in was great.
No breakfast included made me grumpy in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear EmPink

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that the air conditioner was noisy and the shower head not functioning properly. I will have maintenance check all the rooms to find the one that has the problem and rectify this.

I am also sorry that you were grumpy about breakfast not being included, I will ensure that the Front Office team advise this on check in so there are no surprises in the morning., we don't want guests to start the day that way.

I will also pass on your kind words regarding your check in to the front office staff, receiving compliments encourages them to continue to provide great services.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back the Mercure Broome.

Karen Gibson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in April 2014. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The accommodation in the older section is tired and needs to have a major upgrade to bring it in line with what you would expect from a Mercure hotel/motel. After our first night we arranged an upgrade to the newer section which was better but the overall cleanliness was not at what we class as a good standard. When we asked questions regarding items that were either out of order or missing we got the common answer of we are working on that at present or it will be ugraded in the future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book in the new section . Avoid the older section at the front as everyone walks p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Russell

Thank you for your review.

I will pass your comments on to our staff regarding being friendly and helpful.

I have spoken to our housekeeping department to ensure that they continue to ensure that the rooms are maintained to the highest standard.

We look forward to seeing you again

Karen Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel. If you like to have holidays and just like to stay over for a few nights to explore Broome this hotel is great. We got upgraded to a deluxe room straight next to the pool and we loved it. Cleanness was average but the hotel had Everything we needed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear EstherS

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure Broome. Broome is a wonderful place to visit and live.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed almost a week in one of the newer rooms. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I do have mixed feelings about this hotel. On the upside, the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel most welcome. The pools were great, and our room was reasonable. The access to town and restaurants was great and the court house markets just down the road. I also liked the later check out at 11am. The downsides were that, as per previous reviews, the room could have been in better condition; it wasn't quite as clean as it could be and items in the room required maintenance. There was also an incident in the middle of the night where drunken guests escalated an argument into a fight; not at all the hotels fault, but the problem was that the pre-programmed phone numbers on the phone did not actually connect with reception, and there were no obvious instructions as to what number to call apart from a business style card left on a table with "Are you happy" printed on one side which I had yet to turn over. It turns out there was a mobile contact on the other side. I looked up the number for reception on my mobile phone and rang it to have it go to message bank twice; once this happened and the situation outside had escalated I rang the local police and requested their attendance instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Joanne B

Thank you for your review of Mercure Broome.

Let me apologise for the telephone problem and asure that we found the problem with the phone and it was corrected immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Broome.

Kind Regards
Karen Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Room was a typical hotel room and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The aircon and fridge were quiet. In the evening we were happy to turn the aircon off and just have a fan on. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the meals were very good.

Also the hotel was an easy walking to China Town (20-30 min) this has some great dress shops, souvenirs and beautiful pearls of course and plenty of places to eat. However if you're not up to walking due to the heat the bus stop is right outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Godvie123

Thank you for your review of Mercure Broome.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass on your comments to the Chef and his team regarding the meals that you enjoyed here.

I agree we are in a perfect location to be able to access Broome by foot or bus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Broome soon.

Kind regards


Karen Gibson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Broome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Broome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.