We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Broome to your Saves list
Mercure Broome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Hopeless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Don't do it, don't book here. Broome has much to offer but it's not here. The staff are backpackers who are open about their desire to leave. As is everyone else by the end of their first night! The restaurant is terrible, food is over cooked and over priced. We have stayed and eaten here a number of times and it never gets better.
We booked early (several months in advance) only to be disappointed by much cheaper prices closer to the booking, and then to be put in a run down room! There is limited light in the bathroom (a dark shower), the TV remote doesn't work and the pillows are flat, flat, flat. Should have stayed somewhere else - never here again.What a shocker.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here, try the Cable Beach area. If you must stay here, ask to be put in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jessica A

Thank you for your feedback.
I am very disappointed to read about your experience.
The vast majority of the feedback we get about our restaurant and food is very positive.
From your comments I assume that you stayed for more than one night, I was wondering if at any stage you raised any of your issues with the front office or management team?
I would be more than happy for you to contact me about these issues as I can assure that they are things I would like to resolve.
geoffrey.nocher@accor.com

Again thank you for your feedback.

Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    113
    108
    40
    19
See reviews for
41
144
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Never will I stay at the Mercure Broome again.
I travelled to Broome for business and what an ordeal it was to stay at this hotel.

Firstly the hotel was overrun by drunken natives who were up all hours drinking and being extremely loud, swearing and fighting with each other.

When they were finally asked to leave by hotel staff, they simply jumped the fence and continued partying and brought in more alcohol. I had a drunken woman bash at my door yelling and screaming to be let in.

The staff were very hard to get in contact with when I made my complaints, and it seems they simply just allowed the above go on.

I was happy to leave this hotel and get a good nights sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear "Iamsmitten"

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Broome. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed in a few Mecure with the Accor Advantage Plus card and found the hotel to be nice and well presented, but then find that the mattress on the bed is bad. I am getting a bit sicl paying for the nice hotel when the main thing about the motel is a good nights sleep, this is easier achieved if the bed is comfortable.

Why can't hotels buy a large number of mattresses at a discounted rate and pay them off over a period of time?

I have told some of the management, but they seem not that interested. So if yo uwant to improve your service that you praise to be the best, I suggest that you look at the quality of your bedding.

Thank you

Nick O'Connor

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Mercure would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are disapointed to hear that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep as we have recently replaced the mattresses in the hotel.

Once again we thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were disappointed with this hotel. The first room we got was basic but the bathroom was filthy, could not have dreamt of having a bath in there. We were moved, amicably I must say, to a better room but the water from the shower flowed out into the bathroom. No safe. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are disapointed to hear that your stay recently was not up to your standard and appreciate your feedback on you stay. we are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel rooms which unfortunately is a timely process.

Again we thank you for your feedback


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Mercure Broome - IF you have too.......

Needed a central town location in Broome so chose the Mercure

Reception on check in was pleasant but disorganised

Everything looked tired, grounds were untidy, small amounts of rubbish and debris scattered around the garden beds etc

TV was unable to tune in properly to any Channel

Bathroom was dirty, mouldy and simply old

Attached Irish Bar is worth a visit for a cold beer

Hotel Food is very average and sparse sterile dining room experience barely passes as a restaurant

Average location - a bit to far from town, and not close enough to anything else

All round average experience without being unpleasant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for you feedback on your stay here at the Mercure Broome.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Broome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Broome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.