We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even close to 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cable Beach Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Broome
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not even close to 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location of this resort is the only 5 star thing about it. We stayed in a villa which was quite nice but didn't live up to the photos on the website. It was lovely having our own plunge pool but the courtyard was a bit scruffy with some half dead plants in the gardens which did detract from the ambience of the area, it also did not look like the photos on the website.
The villas come with 'Butler Service' We did sleep through the canape service on the first day...our fault. Day 2 we were in the courtyard enjoying the pool. I had the chain on the door and was listening out for the doorbell...... no canapes. I later tried the doorbell and found it did not work. I reported it and was assured it would be fixed, was still not working when we checked out 3 days later.
When I mentioned the non delivery of canapes to our butler the third day his response was "You had the chain on the door and I could not get in" hmmmm the chain would have been off and door opened as soon as I heard the doorbell!!!
It was only a small thing but it was annoying. Having said that,the man acting as butler was lovely and friendly, as were all of the staff.
The light above the front door did not work which made it difficult returning to the room after dinner.
I also had to ring housekeeping to ask for more tea bags and milk as they were never topped up during the room service.

We ate at the bar area of the Sunset Bar and Grill first night, my husband had a Mexican Chicken Pizza, it was bland and tastless.
Next night we dined at the Thai pearl. The food was ok, nothing to get excited about but oh so expensive.
Next we tried the Sunset Bar and grill, inside at the grill, really ordinary food at huge prices. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind paying a premium , especially at remote places, but the food was just bad. It was almost impossible to order a healthy meal.
The food at this resort is outrageously overpriced, with the exception of the Club Restaurant.
If you stay here, do yourself a favour and eat here every night.
Our last dinner was at the Club Restuarant and I almost cancelled this dinner as everything else had been so bad. I am so glad I didn't. The food was excellent. It was only slightly more expensive than the other restaurants but the food quality was worlds apart. It was the crowning glory of the stay.
There are lots of family groups staying at this resort so the adults only pool area was great. Overall it was a relaxing holiday but the overall ambience was of a Butlins Holiday Camp

Room Tip: The premium price for a villa is simply not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCR2008, General Manager at Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your balanced review. Obviously it was most disappointing to read such a range of concerns and I have discussed your comments with our management team in quite some detail in order that suitable action can be taken. Please be assured however that the vast majority of our guests enjoy their stay with us immensely, often returning year after year.

Kind Regards,

Ron Sedon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    195
    81
    21
    20
See reviews for
114
331
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A great location. Good sized room and everything worked. Overall however for the cost we would rate as fair rather than great value. Dining experiences were good rather than memorable. Staff varied between helpful and enthusiastic but lacking knowledge, to in some cases argumentative when something was queried. In at least one instance incorrect advice was provided on the "daily briefing sheet" and opportunities to provide a "nice touch" were missed. For example there was a long line at check in and no attempt to explain the delay, offer a welcome soft drink or otherwise provide a positive first impression.

Room Tip: Would definitely opt for a pool view studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCR2008, General Manager at Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I was disappointed to read of your experience, given the very positive comments we generally receive about our staff and complimentary services (such as a glass of sparkling wine on arrival and daily activities). It seems our efforts have missed the mark on this occasion, but please be assured it is our intention to provide the very best product and services to all guests.

Kind Regards,

Ron Sedon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matcham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights and were very happy with the place. The staff were very helpful and friendly in all areas from check in to dinning.
Yes at breakfast they had plastic cheese as mentioned in another review, but there was so much other food to choose from that you could not help but find enough that you liked. In the evening we dined five of the seven nights in the hotel's restaurants, have to say the food was good as was the wine and the prices not too dissimilar to those of Sydney. I found the service in general was good.
The grounds are lovely and although we only used the "adults" pool, it was very pleasant and relaxing. We had a garden room which was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet.
The location is just fabulous and the sunset from the Bar is a must!
I think people must realize that this establishment is basically situated on the outskirts of a small tourist town in the outback, for that I would rate it highly, but it is not a 5 star city hotel that has no character.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The experience was amazing the service impeccable and the resort was immaculate. I've stayed in Monaco and South of France 8 times, London across from Palace,Abu Dabie 6 star,Dubai 4star 5 times.... I could go on.. Sydney , Melbourne,Manchester, Singapore, Hong Kong, a guest to the mayor of Ningbo, Shanghai , Beijing , Fiji Resorts, Hawaii 16 times etc... This is the best resort I have ever experienced... It is amazing. Congratulations! Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first visited this resort in 1999 when it was owned by 'IHG'. Back then it was already a superb resort with great accommodation, good restaurants & tour desk set in a wonderful location.
Through the years nothing has been taken away, but much has improved.
There is something for everyone - couples & families.
The Cahoya Spa is offers treatments in lovely relaxed surroundings.
There is a comprehensive range of accommodation. We were a group of 3 adults, so we found a Pearlers Bungalow just right.
The Club restaurant looked a bit pricey, so we alternated between the Sunset Bar,Sunset Grill & Thai Pearl for food.
We pre-paid for our breakfasts online when making the booking. It worked out MUCH cheaper than paying day-by-day.
The buffet breakfasts were good.On Sunday when it was VERY busy, the staff kept things moving & buffet items were replenished quickly.
The adult 'quiet' pool was great. Next time if it's just the 2 of us a Pool Terrace Studio which has a deck opening on to the pool area will be our choice.
All in all - it's not cheap, but YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!
The Best in Broome, Love it!

Room Tip: Couples - Pool Terrace Studios look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place to stay if you want the beach and peaceful surroundings but you need to realise it is 5kms out of town. All very good, food, room, grounds although so areas need some attention. Some pathways and stairs need repair as they are showing signs of age. Some confusion at the Club Bar Restaurant at lunch time with staff unaware as to who takes a coffee which left our group also much confused. At $375, room only, the price is stiff compared to other accommodation near to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCR2008, General Manager at Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your accommodation and our tranquil location. I have noted your comments regarding the Club Boardwalk Café and will look into this accordingly.

Kind Regards,

Ron Sedon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We returned to Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa for our fith visit in July 2013. The overall big plus for this resort is Location. - You are right accross the road from Cable beach. All the other resorts suggest they are "close" to Cable beach, but "close" relative to what is the question? - Pluto is close to the Earth if you are talking light years as a yard stick isn't it? - unless you feel like walking for half an hour plus in the heat with your family in tow after a long day at the beach don't bother booking anywhere else. - Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa nails it for location hands down.

This trip the wifey and I wandered around and looked at the other resorts "nearby" and discovered that there was nothing Earth shattering in terms of quality of property that would inspire us to change venues. Quite the opposite actually, most were smaller boasting smaller pools and facilites.

Ok, so here's my good and bad list for this property. - Good first!

1. Facilities. We have been staying here for ten years now and there's something for everyone. If you have a young family, there is a family pool, tennis courts, BBQ's you can book on property, kids play area, table tennis,etc. - The Bungalows are really good for families and they are fully equipped with a kitchen, dishwasher,fridge,microwave and even plates, knives,forks, spoons and glasses. You can go over to town and shop and have breakfast, lunch and dinner in your bungalow if you like instead of buying food in the resort. - Good value for families. Or if you prefer you can eat in the resorts restaurants or get room service.

If you are all adults there is an adult only pool which is very peaceful and tranquil especially as mobile phones are not permitted to be used in this area. There are also adult friendly villa's offering private plunge pools as well as a private sunbaking opportunity if you desire.

2. Sunset bar. - Perfect place to watch the sun fall out of the sky whilst sucking down a few coldies and the resort has now created a new deck area just for house guests, which is great because every man and his Dog seemed to congregate at the sunset bar around sunset and it was hard to get a table before the new area was created. - Now, no problemo ! - nice one management team !

3. Tour desk and shop. - Very easy to book a day trip,restaurant or anything else you may like to do at the tour desk. Friendly profficient staff happy to assist. - Booking in advance for at least a couple of the hard to get into activities is a good idea.

4. Spa - Excellent standard of spa at this resort.

5. Suite's - There are three suite's on the property. We booked the Durack for the second time, which is a 3 bedroom job. These come with butlers and private transfers to/from airport. Very good service offered by these included our butler running up to the bottle shop and buying some liquid refreshments for us and then packing them into an esky with ice for us to take to the beach. - Nothing is a problem for the butlers and they look after you very well. The butler gives you his mobile number and you can ring any time for requests. The suite's are the best accommodation in the resort and they are very spacious and comfy. - If you went as 3 couples and shared the Durack suite it would be very comfortable and cost effective as an option.

So, what's the bad news?

1. Food !! - especially breakfast where they serve bacon that looks and tastes like it's from a dilapidated pig that died a slow and diseased death before it was frozen in and then defrosted from inside an ice age glacier thousands of years later. - Not sure what is going on but it was enough to make me want to be a vegitarian.
The adult pool used to serve nice things like fresh sushi and more healthy stuff but now there is more fried food than you would expect to find at a Col. Sandshoes eatery ! - Wot the? - Grease is the word !
- We tried the Thai Pearl a couple of times and it was hit and miss. Staff were very friendly,however the first meal there was very ordinary at best. Tough and chewy food that reminded me I needed to buy some more shoes instead of eating food that had the texture of them.
Do you like a nice cafe Latte in the morning? - This can take longer to prepare than the Apollo 11 Mission did to land 3 snoozes on the Moon sometimes. Can we invest in some more staff here please?? - 45 mins to get a coffee is ridiculous !

The club restaurant. - Not bad,but when they bring the bill the waitress is wearing a balaclava to signify that this is a hold up ! - They should write "stick 'em up" on the bottom of the bill next to the price.

2. Staff Culture: Most of the staff are friendly and proficient. However, there was a mature lady working in the breakfast area cooking eggs that had a really loose grip on the concept of customer service. - She reminded us of the "Soup Nazi" from that episode of Seinfeld of the same name ! - I was too scared to order some eggs in case she jumped the counter and punched my lights out !! - How can you have people with this kind of attitude working in a luxury resort? - Perhaps she is related to someone in management?

3. Facelift: - Needed in some areas. Over the last 10 years it is obvious that there has been significant funds spent on various upgrades. For example On our original visits there was no spa and the location of the Thai Pearl has been changed,however the original bungalows we stayed in look like they did in 2003 ! The Durack Suite ( top accomodation on site) looks exactly the same it did several years ago and has not been upgraded since we first stayed there.

In the end we consider this resort to be the best offering in Broome for families or couples. It is very comfortable and the location is unbeatable. - Best months to visit for the good weather are June,July and August with June or July being the best !

We will be back. 6.5 out of 10 from me for this property.

Room Tip: Depends if you are a family or a couple? - Bungalows are good value for families,private villa's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBCR2008, General Manager at Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
What an overview! I appreciate the very balanced approach you have taken and couldn’t agree more with your comments regarding our excellent facilities such as Chahoya Spa and the Okari Deck at the Sunset Bar, and will be sure to pass on your comments to our Tour Desk staff. It was with some disappointment that I read your ‘negatives’ and needless to say I will be discussing your concerns with the Management Team. Regardless, you would appear to be a loyal customer and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to sunny Broome soon.

Kind Regards,

Ron Sedon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Cable Beach Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Broome
#3 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#3 Family Hotel in Broome
#4 Spa Hotel in Broome
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa is the only resort in Broome with views overlooking Cable Beach. The Resort is a 26 acre haven set amongst tranquil gardens and featuring a range of accommodation options, suited to the most discerning guests. Our facilities include two pools, including one for adults only, the other a family pool with outdoor spa and a new children’s water playground and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Beach Club Resort And Spa
Cable Beach Club Hotel Broome
Cable Beach Hotel
Cable Beach Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.