We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Until the midges started to bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roebuck Bay

Roebuck Bay
East off Port Drive | Kimberley Region, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 23 Attractions in Broome
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Until the midges started to bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We looked out over Roebuck Bay every day for 8 days. The water colour is beautiful but the mangroves along the waters edge house some ferocious midges !!! There is a lot of bird and bat life to watch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Crystal blue water and many places to sit and relax and look at the view. Plenty of fish to catch and things to do.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meekatharra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The colours of this bay are amazing. The red cliffs, the turquoise ocean, the bright beaches and the green shrubs and mangroves. Beautiful. We did the Hovercraft tour which was a fantastic way of discovering the bay. The dinosaur footprints are said to be the best preserved dinosaur foot prints in the world and take you right back in time. Learning about the birds that travel all the way from the Northern Hemisphere down to Australia and feed here on the tidal flats was interesting and amazing. I was hoping to see a saltwater crocodile but we didn't get to see any. Maybe they live further up the creek?

You get a great view over the bay from the Mangrove Hotel, apparently the highest point in Broome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stairway to the Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

No one believed until we went, and planned our holiday for the full moon, and guess what.....a market, dinner at the pub, and the stairway to the moon in full lustre. Beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Such natural beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We did the hovercraft around this area. So much fun, a must try whilst visiting Broome. Do not forget to check our the dinosaur footprints.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebuck Bay also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Roebuck Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roebuck Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.