We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity book ahead and consider the tides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizontal Falls

Horizontal Falls
Talbot Bay, King Sound Via Derby | Kimberley Region, Broome, Western Australia 6728, Australia
08 91921172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Broome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great activity book ahead and consider the tides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great friendly team, wonderful lunch and I loved the high speed boat speeding through the falls. The swimming in the croc / shark proof cage was not what I expected, however this was not a big deal. I'd do it all again.

One hint. The tides vary in height/variation throughout the month and for the most intense ride through the falls I suggest you look to book when the type has the greatest variation but be careful to book a time when they will actually still ride through the horizontal falls.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    51
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sensational!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Amazing from start to finish. Seaplane flight from Broome for 1 1/2 hours over the northwest coastline and hundreds of islands. Water landing, swam and fed lemon sharks, had barramundi and salad lunch prepared for us then a fast boat through the magnificent waterways and Cyclone Creek. Sped through the unbelievable Horizontal Falls with a very competent and experienced staff member and our safety was always his first priority. Flew back to Broome in the seaplane. Given a DVD of the adventure on return. What a day...well worth the cost.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A wonderfull full day experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This tour may seem expensive but when you consider what is involved and what you get to see and do I believe it is good value.

We choose the full day tour with a bus to Cape Leveque and the sea plane to the falls staging area and back to Broome. The boat ride to and through the falls is an exhilarating experience.

They provide an early snack, morning tea and an excellent Barra and salad lunch.

We had great time

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Even though the tide wasn't great (i.e. less than 6 metres) on the day of our visit, the funneling of enormous amount of water along the narrow gaps was indeed an amazing sight, especially so when we experienced this force of nature on a rubber raft close to the 2nd opening. A wonderful experience indeed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Well worth making this trip, if you have the money and happen to be in Broome. Wouldn't travel to Broome specially to visit Horizontal Falls though.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horizontal Falls also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Horizontal Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizontal Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.