We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressed as previously” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Beach General Store and Cafe

Cable Beach General Store and Cafe
1a Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
0891925572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 57 Restaurants in Broome
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not as impressed as previously”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had lunch there, food was ok but served with friendly smile.what my wife noticed is the range of goods they were selling in deli section has declined, which we found handy in a self contained holiday accommodation. Without asking I think the shop has changed hands since our visit last year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    33
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the near by Cable Beach caravan park and popped in to the café on the off chance of a cheap feed. We were surprised at the prices and menu on offer not to mention all the fresh rolls ready to go. We went with the seafood basket $15.95 & the grilled barra burger $13.35 (2.95 extra for chips) this was enough to feed 2 adults and 2 children aged 4 & 2. The barra burger was awesome and highly recommended and the seafood basket was by all reports from the wife also good. The out door dining area is shaded and cool. There is also plenty of grocery items on hand if you need to grab something.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kennedy WA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Give it a miss-they charge like wounded bulls and could not crack a smile. All we wanted was an ice cream and a choclate bar cost over $30 they should be ashamed chanrging like that. I guess what had the choice not to buy- we never went back!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“One of the best hamburgers I have eaten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Broome is always expensive and the hamburger was no exception at $15 for a bacon and cheese burger but it was absolutely delicious and I would happily pay the price again. In fact we took friends there a few days later and they thought the same

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great variety of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here straight after camel ride with a big thunder storm happening. They were very busy but very polite. The variety was great. Suits most tastes. Will be regulars on every trip back to Broome.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Beach General Store and Cafe also viewed

 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Cable Beach General Store and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Beach General Store and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.