We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Spot is a bit lukewarm.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kool Spot Cafe

The Kool Spot Cafe
2, 12 Carnarvon St, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
(08) 9192 5512
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Broome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cool Spot is a bit lukewarm.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Nice breakfast but nothing special. Ordered a long black, verging on lukewarm. Had to drink it quickly before it got cold. How does a barista stuff up a long black?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best coffee in a week in the Kimberley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had given up on finding a really good coffee in Broome, and on our last morning on the way to the airport stopped for a quick breakfast - amazing! We tried the muesli trifle, the vegetarian bruschetta w poached egg, and totally wicked ricotta hotcakes with caramel sauce and macadamias. And a perfect long macchiato. Everything was expertly prepared and delicious. Our only woe for a gorgeous week was not finding Koolspot earlier!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Zucchini & Walnut cake with cream cheese icing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Dont waste your time at any other cafe in Broome, was in Broome for 7 days and ate there 5 times. I have to admit to my new favourite being their zucchini & walnut cake but can equally recommend the rest of their breakfast menu. Coffee and bondi chai great and we were treated like regulars and met with a smile and a chat every day - didnt happen anywhere else in Broome! We loved Broome we'll be back. Thanks for your hospitality Kool Spot!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“So tasty we had lunch there each day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Thai coleslaw was awesome (the lemongrass mayonnaise really is a hit) and my only disappointment was I couldn't get this the next two days. Friendly staff, tasty food, nice coffee and cold tap water just added up to a great cafe!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting food, quality, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

A few weeks ago I twice ate at The Kool Spot Cafe. Both times I was delighted with the quality of food, with the interesting menu, and with the helpful, friendly service provided by the staff. Whether there for breakfast / brunch or lunch, you can find some gorgeous things on the menu. Not your average cafe. I recommend it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kool Spot Cafe also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to The Kool Spot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kool Spot Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.