We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Pinctada Experience'-more than just a place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A 'Pinctada Experience'-more than just a place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

A little more than a year since our first visit to the newly opened Pinctada Resort, and it's better than ever!
The garden has grown offering more privacy, shade and ambience.
The landscaping features are a tranquil treat, and the way the design of buildings enables the balmy breezes is genius.
The staff are friendly and attentive, yet non-intrusive.
The food is so, so good.
To gain the most from your tranquil 'Pinctada Experience', I suggest you stay at least four days, utilise all that is available and, if possible, avoid school holidays.
The day spa, bars, restaurant and room service are excellent.
Cable Beach is a 10-15 minute walk away. Good exercise.

Already planning my return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    90
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
24
178
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We travelled to Kununurra and then on to Broome to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Adam met us at the Broome Airport and then we were swiftly transferred through to the resort.
Upon arrival we were given our welcome drinks by Helen and seated in the open air foyer. Helen provided an excellent overview of the hotel and its facilities. Adam offered us a glass of champagne to in celebration of our special day. During this time our bags were transferred to our room.
Helen then guided us through the hotel to our room, a Honjin Courtyard Suite, and provided a quick rundown on the room and its facilities. To our suprise a lovely bottle of champagne was in an ice bucket with two glasses and a congratulations card from staff and management. Wow!
The Honjin Courtyard Suite is delightful. In the first room there is a small kitchenette with Miele appliances and a table with four chairs. There are two couches, a flat screen TV, I-Pod docking station and internet hook up. There is an opaque glass divider between the lounge and bedroom. The bedroom has its own flat screen TV and ample cupboard space. The floors are polished wood. The bathroom is large with two basins, shower, toilet and separate bath. On top of that there is an outdoor area with a sun lounge and table and chairs. The room has fantastic lighting. There were five panels spread throughout the suite. Lighting options included welcome which turns on selected lights through the suite and goodnight which fades everything to black. Outside there is a private dipping pool in our courtyard. It’s a little chilly, but lovely for a private dip.

The resort is beautifully thought out with lots of native plants, wooden walkways, pebbles, rocks and mood lighting. There is a bar area which overlooks the swimming pool on one side and native plants on the other. It was great to watch and listen to the native birds. We also found a couple of green tree frogs perched on the wooden gate which opened to our courtyard.
The restaurant and in room dining was of a high standard. The wine list was well thought out and complimentary to the menu. The restaurant does overlook the road, but there is minimal noise as few vehicles seem to use the road.
Whatever you do, go and have a spa. Your body chooses what treatments you have, by smell. It’s a little bit of fun and hocus pocus! But that’s what holidays are for, treat yourself! See if you can track down Denise before she heads off home to Ireland, she has wonderful hands.
Other facilities include a large swimming pool (which was just too chilly to for our liking), spa, meditation area and a small gym.
The location is excellent within walking distance to Cable Beach and The Old Zoo Cafe. The town bus stop is just down the road.

If you just want to relax, this is the place to be.
.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My wife and myself have come to Broome for the past 6 years, every year we have stayed at Cable beach Club, although we made a really good choice to stay at Pinctada.
From the moment you arrive at the airport your very personal pinctada experience starts, Adam picked us up from the airport and showed us a few things we didnt know about broome. Then once we arrived at the resort the staff were relaxed and casual but still very professional. The staff are very young but still incredibly hard working from Zac (porter) Kamila ( restauraunt) Will ( morning shift) & Adam who seems like he does everything ( bar, porter , check outs, roomservice, restaurant). I would hire all the pinctada staff for our restaurant anyday it actually makes you feel special everytime you walk into the lobby or step out side your room with even gardeners going out of ther way to say hello.
the rooms are incredible with turn down service every night making you feel right at home.
the food is fantastic and very reasonable, my wife loved the cocktails and you can even get Adam to create your own.

When we were there the owner of the resort was in Broome and took the time to say hello to everyone in the pool bar .

Overall Pinctada has to be one of if not the best resort ive stayed in inside Australia A very well earnt 5star*

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Having been to Broome at least once a year in the last few years, we were looking for somewhere different to stay for maximum relaxation. Pinctada ticked all the boxes from the airport pick up thru every part of our 4 night/5 day stay. Exceptional staff and nothing is too much trouble for them. It's beautifully set up and maintained, in fact it's a true resort for adults so forget the kids because they would be bored to death and annoy the other guests.
I read the other reviews on trip advisor for Pinctada and some criticisms are inaccurate or unrealistic. This is a 5 star property with highest quality fittings and furnishings. We had a Shinju Pool Terrace studio which are spacious and well equipped with a private courtyard and only a few metres walk to one of the 3 pool entrances. The resort is quiet and slow paced so you feel relaxed from the moment you arrive and receive your welcome drink and that feeling of serenity remained right thru our stay.
The pool bar/restaurant is open during the day and our only criticism would be the limited menu of unusual "middle eastern" style foods. Tasty, but if you want a plain burger and chips or a sandwich it ain't here sadly. (Not sure that too many of us are ready for these unusual dishes?). However the main restaurant has a better menu with fine food and an excellent wine list that includes plenty of reasonably priced wines. It doubles as the breakfast venue which offers a choice of continental or cooked brekky.
If you booked here you would not expect that its going to be a cheap venue so criticism of the food & wine prices are misplaced if you compare with Cable Beach Resort and other pricey Broome venues.
Also its a 12 minute walk to the beach not a marathon and the town bus stops about 50 metres from the door. Little touches like free daily papers available at breakfast time (unheard of in Broome) and 2 bottles of water in your room each day add to the experience. It can only get better here and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Broome. It's dramatic. It's far away from everywhere. It's on everyone's wish list ... and now there is somewhere cool to stay too.

OK, I love my mod cons and good service (and a tasteful room, please). I hate stuffy, pretentious places ... but I just loved Pinctada Cable Beach (Resort and Spa) ... it has all of the good stuff and none of the bad. This resort is fab and new (it opened in 2009) and, by the way, it is a REAL resort, not just a hotel with a pool. It isn't too big either, about 70 rooms, I think.

The decor is really tasteful, the rooms are huge (and we didn't even stay in one of the suites) and it exudes style ... not like George V in Paris, more like something cool you would find in the Costa Smeralda or St Tropez without the stuffy, nutty, important people or the silly price in Euros. Normally, I would say that those attributes would be out of place in a far-away (outback) place like Broome but, strangely enough, this really works.

My wife and I stayed for 5 (romantic!) nights, which allowed us to soak up the atmosphere of Pinctada as well as the many dramatic and subtle sights of Broome ... you know; the amazing sunset at Cable Beach, the Sun Pictures outdoor cinema, Chinatown, Gantheaume Point, Willie Creek, the stars at night (wow!), etc. We had a very adult time, as had other people at the resort. We did see some kids (at least I think I did), but we were very much aware of being a deservingly indulgent adult couple on holiday.

To be recommended at the resort:
1) The food: A good signature restaurant and great food in the poolside bar/lounge. The Mediterranean style food is suited the climate
2) The Day Spa with a comprehensive treatment menu (thanks to my wife for this comment, she spent a lot of ... umm ... time in there).
3) The staff. Nothing was a bother or too much trouble for these guys (although we didn't ask for much, I got the idea they were always ready to assist) and they actually smiled with real smiles.
4) The pool. It was actually deep enough for an adult to stand in. I hear it was designed by Jamie Dury ... the guy on TV.

Travellers to be aware of:
1) It is about a 10-minute walk from the resort to the waters edge at Cable Beach, so plan to do this early or late in the day because Broome can get hot around midday and that heat can really spoil your leisurely stroll (If in doubt, hire a bike, maybe).
2) Daily newspapers only arrive in Broome in the late afternoon (I am a news addict, so I had to turn to the internet, to my wife's dismay)
3) Restaurant kitchens close early in Broome ... although to be fair, the Pinctada guys were able to feed us late when we needed it.
4) Although you don't strictly NEED a car in Broome ... renting one on day 3 made the last few days just that more special
4) Whatever you do, do not wear white shoes in Broome ... my wife will tell you all about that, if you really wanted to ask more.

So, in a nutshell ... we will be back guys and this time we will get a 4X4 to check out the Gibb River Road, yee-harrr .... but I think I better brush up on my tyre-changing skills first.

... to be continued.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Wow, thanks for the great review, Tropposhare. So glad you ahd a nice romantic time. We welcome everybody, but its fair to say couples love us best. We think of ourselves as a kind of vessel that allows people to enjoy the space they create for themselves while they are in our care. Thanks again for the nicely written review, and we look forward to seeing you back with us sometime soon. With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We arrived mid morning from Perth and it was great to be collected at the airport and driven to Pinctada in an arconditioned vehicle. It was well before 'check in time" but on arrival at Pinctada we were seated in the reception area, given a lovely cool drink and treated like royalty by very friendly obliging staff. We were upgraded to a Hoijin Courtyard Suite - as described in other reviews - and were unpacked and settled in before lunch. The resort was very quite so the 'private' plunge pool in the courtyard was basically ours to use whenever we wanted but I found it quite hot out there and preferred the Maxima pool with its shady umbrellas. The plunge pool was also a bit of a strange design - there are no steps from the ground into the pool so you have to step up about 2 feet or more to get into the water and the same to get out. Our room was lovely but I agree with other comments about the divisions between the outdoor areas. If you sit in the outdoor area and the guests in the next room choose to do the same it gets somewhat claustrophobic and there is certainly no privacy. Also, my husband wanted to sit out there at night to read but there was no outdoor light at all. I personally didn't find it an attractive area that I would choose to spend time in - too small and too close to the next room. Corner courtyard rooms may be better as their outdoor areas were a different layout and didn't butt up against other guest rooms. The room furnishings, bed, amenities etc however were great. The bathroom was well equipped with a huge (but strangely uncomfortable!) bath, large shower recess and lovely towels etc. Breakfasts and other meals at the resort were magnificent. The menus at Selene and Brizo were exciting and "different" and all dishes were presented with flair. We had a magnificent dinner at Selene as well as breakfast every day and thoroughly enjoyed all. We went to quite a few other restaurants in Broome but the food at Pinctada was clearly the winner. The resort staff were superb - really friendly and helpful and always cheerful- even in the very hot and humid conditions we experienced. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Pinctada and had a great relaxing time in Broome - yes there were a few things to grumble about but, its a new resort and nothing's perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thanks for your comments Catherine, especially about our Honjin Courtyard Suites and our private courtyard plunge pools. Your constructive points have been noted and I will look to see what can be done with additional plantings between our courtyards. So glad you enjoyed our fabulous food. Special thanks for you kind comments reading our team. Everyone works so hard to make every stay with us extra special. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

If you don't mind the 15 minute walk to the beach its a 5. The great staff make up for any other shortcomings.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thanks for your comments Morry, especially regarding our great staff. We are always happy to use our Mercedes vehicles on request for a quick run to beach, if our guests would prefer. Thanks again for your comments. With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Family Hotel in Broome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.