We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service with a smile, would go back in a flash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Bunbury
1 review
“Personal service with a smile, would go back in a flash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Had three nights at Pinctada. The staff were very helpful and friendly - we were picked up and dropped back at the airport, and were given a lift into town a few times. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food in both restaurants, particularly the pizzas. The pool was beautiful but a little too warm. However, this is because of the location ie Broome so it's not the hotel's fault! Rooms are immaculate and have everything you need. Plenty to do and see in Broome. Almost all staff knew our room number so it was a very personal experience. Had two massages which was very relaxing and staff were extremely friendly and made you feel special. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
Thanks for your review Scofe! We are all really glad you had a such an enjoyable time. Our Pide's are the greatest! Hope to see you back soon, Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    89
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
23
178
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

My fiancee and i stayed a week at the Pinctada resort, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it was my first visit to Broome , I believe this resort excels compared many other 5 star resorts i have stayed at around the world and there most probably nothing else quite like it in Broome.

After a long day of traveling from the east coast, it was a pleasure to arrive at the resort as the sun was setting, shown to a lounge chair and offered a yummy welcome drink (a local iced tea) The reception area although next to the car park and close to the road is glorious at sunset and the cool breezes that blow through are just magnificent. I did not notice the car park and the road is not busy.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the pool with a balcony, which is beautifully lit at night, and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. Rooms are tastefully decorated and include some great gadgets like the ipod/iphone dock, Nespresso coffee machine, and lighting that lets you choose various moody effects. Loved the bathroom, with stone floors and huge shower. All the things you expect, eco friendly toiletries, bathrobes, cute slippers.

The staff were always so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. This carried through to the restaurant service and the food was excellent. Was informed that most of it is made fresh onsite they have their own baker/pastry chef, and could smell the turkish pides being cooked at lunchtime. Although its not cheap it is definitely worth the quality and i found that eating out generally in Broome was expensive, some restaurants no more than a glorified kiosk and charging a la carte prices. I am often wary of room service in 5 star hotels. Trying always to order the menu item that would be the hardest to mess up. Always the club sandwich with fries over the spaghetti marinara! Room service at Pinctada was a smaller version of the two restaurant menus, so no fear of ordering something that cost a fortune and tasted terrible.

The pool is not big, but in the off season when you cant swim in the ocean due to stingers there was always plenty of room, and when the hotel is full i would presume it would be the dry season when i would be down on cable beach swimming instead.
It is a 15min walk but i didn't mind the stroll.

The Gardens although requiring little water, are a bit sparse and harsh looking, but apparently most of the species because of the low water requirements take longer to grow. So i think, seeing as its still a relatively new hotel, should settle into its own eventually.

Overall i had a lovely relaxing stay, delicious food, attentive,warm staff and lovely rooms means i would recommend Pinctada to anyone who wants that something a little bit special when visiting Broome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Diaz, thank you for taking the time to pen a review. We look forward to you coming back and enjoying our fabulous resort and beach in the winter months. Thanks again from all at Pinctada Cable Beach. With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were luxurious. I would also recommend the spa treatments which were very professional.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Michael Hughes, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate the feedback. We are working on some great new new spa treatments, which I know you will love. I hope you and your daughter are able to come back soon to Pinctada Cable Beach Spa Resort, or maybe to experience the charm of McAlpine House in Old Broome. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillarys W.A.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed at Pinctada in December 2009, and had a magificent time. We were greeted at the airport by Pinctada staff and were driven ( and given a mini tour of the sights on the way) to the resort with another couple to the resort. The resort looks stunning all lit up at night, and the design complements the natural environment. We stayed in a Shinju Pool Terrace, with our courtyard gate only 2 steps from the entrance to the pool. You could spend all day in the pool, the water was the perfect temperature, there was no difficultly finding a sun bed under the shade. Our rooms were stunning, with an additional 2 sun beds in our courtyard.

We decide to have a look around town, and called the desk to ask them to call a taxi for us - they said there was no need and that they would drive us into town - we didnt argue !

The point that stood out for us most - that would encourage us to choose the Pinctada again - Standard check out time was 11am - and our flight didnt leave to a little after 6pm that evening - The staff called us and offered for us to keep our room until we were leaving , at no additional charge - Obviously we realise that during peak season this may not have been a possiblity - but it made a great stay into a fantastic stay.
Many thanks to all at Pinctada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to post such a comment and we are delighted that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you at Pinctada Cable Beach Spa Resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

When we arrived we thought we had made a real mistake - its quite a way from the beach in a back road as a lot of the hotels are in Broome. The lobby is open air against the car park and the restaurant is at the front of the hotel - open air onto the street - interesting if you are having breakfast and its rubbish day as the trucks pick up the bins - also noisy as the buses go past. Breakfast food was good though. We booked a Honjin Courtyard suite - they had had a few complaints they told us about the courtyard rooms as many thought the descriptions of the courtyard rooms that they "open onto a lush courtyard with a relaxation plunge pool" was misleading in that it sounds like each room had a plunge pool. Thats what we thought - instead there are 6/8 rooms around a square courtyard with a plunge pool in the centre - who would use that? Surrounded by other rooms? I think theres a picture on the website now. Also the verandahs are very shady and quite narrow - sandwiched between the rooms. Dont bother - go for the standard rooms overlooking the pool - we looked at one and they are great. Go for one that faces the bar/restaurant and you get the last of the afternoon sun as its dips behind the hotel. Courtyard rooms are not worth the upgrade at all. Much more modern than cable beach - just further away. If I had to choose between the two I would choose pinctada but in a standard room

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Hughes_Mgr, Resort Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback and I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. I am pleased that you found such pleasure in our Shinju Studio Rooms. We will address our marketing of the Honjin Courtyards to ensure greater understanding of their layout and thank you noting the plan on the website. Your comments on breakfast are appreciated and for most of the year now, we serve breakfast in Brizo Pool Cafe which overlooks the Maxima Pool on one side and the natural Broome bushland on the other. Although we are not directly on the beach, the resort was designed to capture the cool sea breezes off Cable Beach, to maximise environmental efficiency and to ensure each room has a view of the pool or the meditative garden. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights at the Pinctada in Sept 09. We had our reservations given the reviews on tripadvisor however we really enjoyed our stay.

Pros

The staff at the hotel are simply excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they attended to any of our requests perfectly.

Our hotel room (with the exception of the point below) was lovely. Very well appointed with two large flatscreen LCDs, spacious bathroom and "mood lighting" (otherwise known as dimmers). The bed was also extremely comfortable.

The restaurants are great with really good food and a great wine list. The menu in the main restaurant changes regularly so you can happily eat there a couple of nights on your stay without getting bored.

The spa is also excellent with a wide varity of treatments and enough spa staff so that we could regularly get treatments booked on the same day.

Cons

The thing that instantly hits you when you arrive is how some questionable design choices have been made for a hotel which has been designed from the ground up. For instance, the reception area overlooks the car park with the restaurant overlooking the road. Strangely enough this didn't really bother us as the road is very quiet however I can understand why some people have complained about this.

The swimming pool is a very nice and relaxing space with a good poolside restaurant to accompany it. The hotel did not appear very busy during our stay and therefore we never had any difficulty in getting a bed by the pool. The pool isn't very large however and there are only 22 sunbeds for a hotel capable of taking up to 144 guests - again a strange design decision... Meanwhile there is a very large "meditation" garden close to the pool which never appears to be used and should really have been used as an additional pool space. There are beds located on the terraces of the individual rooms and in the Honjin Courtyards however these are just single sunbeds so they're no good if there are two of you!

We stayed in a Honjin Courtyard suite which contains a bedroom, lounge and kitchen unit. Is also has a terrace which runs the length of the room with a single sunbed and a table. Each Hongjin Courtyard Suite directly faces another with a large terrace between them seperated by a see through divider. The see through divider means that when sat on your couch or lying on your bed, you are directly looking into next door's room - clearly this is a bit strange. Equally if you're eating on your balcony, you are 2 foot away from your next door neighbour and can see them. In other words, it's not very private but could be easily remedied if the hotel replaced the see through dividers with non see-through ones.

Minor niggles included everything being very very expensive (as others have mentioned), the poolside bar/restaurant closing at 9pm because of the rooms located above it (again questionable design decision) and very expensive wireless internet access in the rooms with no complementary business centre provided. The gym is also unfortunately not adequate (no freeweights or gym ball).

Overall we had an absolutely fantastic stay and would recommend the hotel with the caveats above. The distance to the beach is about a 10/15 minute walk but it's very easy to get to and this didn't really bother us. The Cable Beach Club is admittedly a lot closer but looked quite run down to us when we visited and a lot busier (c. 240 rooms versus Pinctada's 72 rooms). If the hotel were to address the points above, it would definitely be a 5* and Broome's premier resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. The hotel had just had its offical opening. I thought it was very good in general and dont really have anything bad to say about it. We stayed in a courtyard suite and the room was very comfortable and luxurious. Breakfast was very good. We did not have any other meals in the hotel so i cant comment on lunch or dinner. This is definately the best place to stay in broome. Its not particularly cheap but I thought it was worth the bit extra. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

Two things for the management to consider. The pool is way too cold!! Please heat it up!! Your wood floors in the room are beautiful! They will get very scratched from the chairs unless you do something about it....only thinking of your hotel.....

Graham

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#4 Family Hotel in Broome
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.