We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broome Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Broome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Broome Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent four nights in a Shinju Studio at the Pinctada Cable Beach Resort and Spa. It was agreat experience and we were made to feel very welcome by the resort staff. The Studio rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The breakfast menu was creative and delicious. The pool was a highlight of the resort and we made excellent use of this facility. Tours and transfers were organised for us with minimun fuss.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear 910Freobeach,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay at Pinctada Cable Beach Resort & Spa and I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I look forward to being able to welcome you back for some more “Broome Time” in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    95
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
24
194
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night package. Nice resort unfortunately we weren't there long enough to enjoy or take it all in. Food at the restaurant was nice and the staff were brilliant. Most helpful and even arranged our flight check in and airport transfer when our taxi didn't arrive on time.
Room was clean and the bathroom was huge. Will have to stay a lot longer next time and take in all that Broome has to offer.
Oh yeah, there's a bus stop outside the resort to take you into the town for the day.
Hopefully see you again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear TheMoz1,
Thank you for posting feedback of your stay at Pinctada. I am pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your short break from Perth and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Broome for another longer stay again next year.

Mind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a few days either side of a weeks fishing at the resort staff were very friendly a helpful the only thing that needs a little work is the menu at The main restaurant very small choice if you intend to eat there more than twice also the micro
Burger at the pool bar should only be sold to children under 6 . Keep up the good work and see you next year

Geoff G.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Geoff G,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stays in Broome. At Pinctada we do pride ourselves on the friendliness and assistance offered by our staff and I am very pleased to read that you had found that your experience has improved since your last visit. I was however disappointed to read that you found the menu limiting. I appreciate your comments and I am pleased to say that we are currently reviewing all of the menus. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next fishing adventure to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised. Gorgeous hotel, ever so helpful & friendly staff. The room overlooking the pool was very comfortable and spacious. The surroundings are so lush and tropical. Would not hesitate to stay here again when next in Broome.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear SheldaM,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent visit to Broome. I was delighted to read that we surprised you and hopefully surpassed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pinctada on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We don't usually stay at 5 star hotels but this one was great value for money. The room and all facilities were excellent. We stayed a total of 4 nights on two separate occasions. We left excess baggage with them while we were on a tour of the Kimberleys and it was waiting for us in on our room on our return; that is good service. Its location is a little off the beaten track making a car a requirement. We ate at their restaurant on 3 occasions. The food was very good. We had excellent service on our first stay but on our last night it was terrible. We waited nearly 30 minutes before being able to place our order and then only after calling the waiter over to our table. He muttered something about needing to have orders flow into the kitchen. But we observed that two couples who were seated after us had placed their orders well before we did. This poor service spoilt an otherwise excellent experience.If eating outside; something to be recommended; do take a torch as it is impossible to read the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear David K D,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stays with us. I am pleased to hear that enjoyed both of your visits with us and that we were able to offer assistance with your luggage while on tour. I am happy to read that you enjoyed dining and the cuisine at Selene’s. I was however disappointed to read that there was an issue on your last night with timing of the service. I apologise unreservedly and I hope that this has not tainted your overall experience. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Pinctada again for another great stay on your next tour of the Kimberley.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort is a piece of heaven in the middle of a desert. We don't normally stay in 5* hotels but were certainly glad we did when we arrived in Broome. The rooms are spacious, classy and just what you would expect from a 5* resort. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: If you don't normally stay 5*, save up your pennies and lash ot - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear SistaGirl2010,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay at Pinctada Cable Beach. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a 7 nights stay at the Pinctada and the pool and other amenities were very good. The restaurant had an excellent menu for the dinner although the breakfast buffet did become a little boring after a few days. They will do eggs for you if you ask which is nice as the buffet poached eggs every day got a bit much.
The staff were excellent and would not be out of place at top Singapore and London hotels.
Be aware that the Pinctada is quite a walk to Cable Beach and we found it best to hire a car for our stay.

Room Tip: Try for the upstairs Shinju rooms. The top floor has a nice aspect towards Cable Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear JohnofPerth,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay. I was very happy to read that you have enjoyed all facets of the resort from you room, amenities, pool and dining. I appreciate you feedback regarding breakfast and we have recently returned to an a la carte menu for breakfast which allows greater variety for guests who are staying longer periods. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Broome in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Murray Road | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#4 Family Hotel in Broome
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.