We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Zoo Cafe - CLOSED

The Old Zoo Cafe
Challenor Drive, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
+61 (0)8 9193-6200
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Meal was nice, atmosphere nice, staff nice. Overall it was a nice meal, nothing to get excited about, nothing to complain about either

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    98
    51
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our best food in 4 weeks of Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Zeebar beats everything we tried in Perth, Sydney, Hobart and all other cities on our 4 week trip of Australia. Everything was spot on and the food was fantastic! Well done!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff were great, helped us out with kids food and drinks and pencils. But I had some serious food poisoning from eating the Barramundi. It came out both ends. Not a happy customer. My friend also the Barra, but only had 2 mouthfuls as he thought it tasted horrible. So not a very good experience at all

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a pity the Zoo is no more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the best restaurant in Broome and has sadly closed it's doors. The owners have tried to shift it into the old Zeebar and have rebirthed it as the Zoo Bar and Cafe. It just doesn't have the feel of the old Cafe - the history has gone and so too has the ambience. Sitting on the deck under the stars was a special feeling. Things change, but this is not one for the better!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Brekky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went here twice during my stay in broome.

once for lunch - the menu was pretty basic nothing really jumped out at me but i tried the japanese chicken (?) and that tasted so good.

Once for breakfast - a varity of breakfast i ordered the "zoo works" and that was so yummy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Zoo Cafe also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Zoo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.