We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not all the facilities available for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearle to your Saves list
The Pearle
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   14 Millington Road, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Perth
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“not all the facilities available for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is a lovely place, a modern apartment with all the appliances you could need. Instruction manuals are in the drawers. There are air-conditioning and ceiling fans in all bedrooms, living areas and kitchen.
However, there are several points you should know before paying $800/night to stay here:
1. Although their website says there is broadband internet access in the rooms, there isn't! You need to take your laptop to the reception area and use the wireless connection there (free). This was a major problem for my husband and I as we had come away thinking we'd be able to finish off some work and stay in touch with colleagues for a couple of hours every day. We bought a Telstra USB 3G wireless connection ($149 for the hardware then pay for the download Mb as you go) but this wasn't perfect as the network dropped out very frequently.
2. Beach is not close by.
3. Foxtel was unavailable for large amounts of time. We stayed 5 nights and several nights and afternoons there would be 4-6 hours without Foxtel (one day it was about 6pm to 8am), just regional free-to-air.
4. The lap pools would be good if they weren't ice cold. My 8 year old wouldn't use it after the first day, which meant we had to go and sit by the central pool for her to swim in the warmer water. Having your own lap pool was another one of the main attractions of booking this particular resort.
5. The cafe is not open throughout the day - just for breakfast and dinner (6:30pm onwards). It would have been good to have a drinks vending machine near the pool so you could buy a cold drink whilst sitting by the pool, if the cafe couldn't be open during the day.
6. They do not have a liquor licence and the nearest bottle shop (Divers) is not easy walking distance in hot weather.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    140
    52
    13
    8
See reviews for
74
229
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stayed at the Pearle in early June, based largely on previous recommendations. Stayed in a pavillion room, which is really like a mini-house. You walk through a wooden-gated door, into an area with an outdoor table, gas grill, and a closet with a washing machine. Entering into the accomodation, there is a spacious kitchen with dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, and fully stocked with silverware, pots and pans, and drinking cups/glasses. It also features a large living room area, with a coffee table and couch, and plasma television/stereo. Outside in the back is a lap pool with chairs. The bedroom featured a comfortable king size bed, another television and a wooden armoire. Bathroom was equipped with dual sinks and a spacious shower area.

The staff at the Pearle was extremely helpful and most polite. The one time we needed extra items for our room, they arrived almost immediately. Wireless internet access was to be made available on the day we left the resort.

We did not frequent the restaurant, but heard many good things about it.

As some reviewers have previously mentioned, it is a fair walk to Cable Beach from the resort, especially if the weather is very warm. Going into town requires either your own transportation or taking the city bus. There is a bus stop directly across the street from the resort that runs twice an hour and will take you into town for cheap. You can always buy your own food and prepare it at the resort if you don't want to go to the restaurant.

Within walking distance is the Old Zoo Cafe, which is a neat place to have a meal. Not too far also is a convenience store and internet cafe with reasonable rates. Of course, the magnificent Cable Beach is also fairly close.

Overall, this resort is highly recommended. It is not the cheapest place in the world, especially during the Dry Season, but the resort is only about a year old, clean, well-maintained, and run by friendly people. If you plan on doing much travel in the area, it might be advisable to rent a car/scooter for excursions to the town centre. Broome is a neat town with a fascinating history, and the Pearle is a jewel in its cap.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I had 10 great nights at The Pearle in a 2 bedroom configuration. Loads of space inside and out (there were 2 of us) and plenty of natural light through lots of glass. Full size kitchen and fridge/freezer was very convenient. Tastefully decorated throughout with lovely plants complementing the outdoor spaces.

We each had our own bedroom (with flat screen TV) and bathroom. I had the smaller of the two bedrooms and it was great. Huge shower and spacious bathroom and also had its own little deck complete with a small outdoor table and two chairs. A couple would be quite comfortable in this room.

I found all staff to be very helpful - promptly provided extra hangers for use in wardrobes as well as pool towels and extra soap when asked, happily provided info and bookings when asked, provided (basic) breakfast in our room for days when tours had us up too early to go to the restaurant (we had daily breakfast included in our rate). Happily let me use their internet connection. Waitstaff (Adam & Gemma) at the restaurant were terriffic - always lovely and obliging. They helped make the start of each day so pleasant!

The resort itself is not on or across from Cable Beach but only a short-ish walk away (a short cut to the beach to avoid a bit of a loop would be very handy some days!). The town bus stops across the road and about ten metres up from the resort entrance - very handy, especially after picking up groceries. We didnt end up hiring a car as we really didnt need it. Walking to/from beach and local restaurants/bars was lovely as we did this before and after the heat of the middle of the day.

The resort restaurant is small but serves reasonable fare. We had dinner there twice and it was quite nice. Be prepared to pay more than you normally would - EVERYTHING is expensive in Broome... definitely not a cheap holiday destination. Included breakfast is a choice of orange juice or hot beverage and a choice of about about six different items including pancakes and eggs benedict.

The main pool is nicely set out in the middle of the resort adjacent to the restaurant and thankfully is temperature controlled (unlike our private pool). This is where you will also find pool/beach towels.

I have listed the negatives I encountered over my stay below. These are not meant as a dire warning to stay away but rather they are intended to highlight areas that need improvement.

- Private pool was freezing, even in the middle of day when it had direct sunlight over it (but was way too hot to be out in the open anyway)
- There are no in room safes although you can leave valuables with reception (just a little inconvenient)
- Have to carry your key at all times to lock and unlock doors. Although the perimeter is fenced it wouldnt take much for anyone to get in undetected - our 'house' backed onto vacant land.
- Pool towels are left on table out in the open so if there is rain or even a light shower you will need to call housekeeping if you need some
- So many light/fan/dimmer switches! Was a little confusing and sometimes annoying
- No screens on doorways means you cant have them open unless you dont mind every bug (plus frogs and lizards) imaginable coming inside
- Only one telephone, on wall, in kitchen. Inconvenient if you are not in the main part of the house.
- Nowhere to hang an item of clothing in bedrooms or bathrooms aside from in wardrobe
- Nowhere to put shampoo bottles etc other than on the ground in very large shower spaces
- "Servicing" your room does not include cleaning of any description even when its obviously needed. We had a service half way through our stay and I would have appreciated having my bathroom mirror/glass shower wall cleaned as well as some windows in the main living area. A sweep of the bedroom and bathroom wouldnt have gone astray either. From what I can tell, bins were emptied and fresh towels and linen were supplied and thats it. Not the end of the world, but would make the stay nicer if you have shiny clean mirrors and windows.

All in all I had a lovely and pleasant stay and would happily recommend and return although, rates are a bit on the pricey side as is the case with all properties in Broome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Hi

Although I am a local, i still the ambienace of a resort for breakfast.
As can happen in Broome, service and quality of food can suffer at popular spots. And as Broome is expensive to dine out, i found this restarant to be a breath of fresh air.

Excellent food, staff who actually cared about your eating experience and immaculate, clean surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Just returned from our 5 night stay (23-28FEB 2009) and we LOVED it. We took our 2 children aged 2 years and 10 weeks old, and my parents too. We stayed in the pavillion bedroom, my parents stayed in what would normally be the hotel room (or the 3rd bedroom) and our 2 yo in the 2nd bedroom. I initally panicked when I realised that his room had outdoor access and how would we hear him during his day sleep or when he woke in the morning. Fortunately, one call to reception solved that as they have baby/room monitors. This was great as we could swim outside whilst they slept and knew when they woke up.
Baby got a REAL cot, not a portacot. Just added that touch that made you feel more welcome.
Kitchen was fully equipped - including salt and pepper, bottle openers, and anything else you could think of. If the weather wasn't so muggy we would've eaten more meals outside, but it was good to have 2 dining options (in or out).
Only negative is lack of dryer. Although they have an undercover clothes line in the outdoor laundry rooms, the humidity was so high (due to wet season) that the clothes wouldn't dry after 24 hours, so we ended up looking a bit like a Chinese laundry with stuff everywhere inside! Probably could've found a laundromat to fix it faster but we were too busy swimming!
Restaurant is pricey but the BEST meal I've ever had. Sensational pork belly and devine chocolate pudding dessert. Even if you don't stay here you MUST indulge yourself for a night out. Restaurant is casual and over looks pool.
Overall, great resort and experience. Will definitely go again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong,Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Pearle for 10 nights in a 1 bedroom villa. Well what can I say.....we came here to relax and that we did!!
Luxurious apartment, spacious, well equipped with all mod cons, courtyard, bbq and our own lap pool was just the iceing on the cake ! The resort was just beautiful, peaceful, staff helpful when needed, cafe great. resort about 15 min walk to cable beach to watch the sun set..glorious...Town bus at doorstep to take you to Broome shopping areas. If staying at Cable Beach be prepared to hire car or scooter if you want to travel around with ease and air conditioning!

  • Liked — lap pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from 4 nights in Broome staying at The Pearle. For the first three nights we stayed in a two bedroom pavillion (all the one beds were booked), and for the last night we stayed in a hotel room. We booked through wotif.com.au and paid about $270 for the pavillion and $150 for the hotel room.
The pavillion was absolutely beautiful with more than enough room for two couples or a family, at what I thought was an extremely reasonable price. It had a lovely lap pool, huge living area and outdoor dining area with bbq. The lounge area and each bedroom had a flat screen TV with Foxtel. The gardens were very tropical and lush. We certainly didn't feel guilty for doing nothing more energetic than lying by the pool! The ensuite in the main room was beautiful with double basins and shower (one with a rain shower head).
The hotel room was very comfortable, however after staying in the pavillion, we felt a bit deflated! In saying this it was a very nice room, it is just that the pavillion was so good! I suppose it is hard going from something which is the size of a house, to a 30sqm hotel room.
Cable beach was a nice length walk away, although may be a little bit far for kids in the heat of the day.
Overall it was a fantastic place to stay and I will definately stay there next time I am in Broome.

  • Liked — So much space, gorgeous pool, a great place to be very lazy!
  • Disliked — Front desk staff member was quite vague when we checked in.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearle

Address: 14 Millington Road, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Broome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearle 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Voted Broomes Best accommodation 2013!" by the locals of Broome.Inspired by the exotic pavilion homes of South East Asia, The Pearle offers Pearle Guest rooms and premium 1, 2 and 3-bedroom Pavilion accommodation in synergy with the natural surroundings and with stunning local artwork throughout. We are home to the most swimming pools in a resort anywhere in Australia (36 in total), each fully self-contained Pavilion offers modern comfort with designer kitchens, air-conditioning and spacious living areas including a large outdoor deck with stainless steel BBQs and a private swimming pool.Other facilities include an onsite breakfast cafe, Day Spa, Resort Shop, Tour Desk, Free Internet Station, Late Check Out Lounge and Bathroom.The perfect resort for the discerning traveler to Broome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pearle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearle Hotel Broome
Pearle Hotel Broome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.