We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for with Ace's Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ace's Place

Ace's Place
Shop 1 13-17 Lake Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3023, Australia
83901800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,101 of 3,916 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for with Ace's Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went in for lunch for the first time to Ace's Place on a weekday. Immediately you can tell its a family run business because there were more staff than customers inside. And most of the staff were sitting around a table eating.

The one waitress on the floor was friendly enough, we were seated within a couple of minutes and given our menus. The menu is pretty good, has a good range of pastas, pizzas, seafood dishes, and everything is very cheap if you compare it to other places.

Our order was taken but make sure you order everything you will want for the entire seating because you will not see the waitress again till you pay. The food was average. I personally had the prawn and spinach fettuccine in a cream sauce. The pasta was not fresh and was clearly the dry noodles you can purchase at coles. The thing that annoyed me most, is that i saw my food sitting up on the chefs pass for 10 extra minutes while 6 of the staff/family members all chatted in one corner of the restaurant. The chips on the chicken schnitzel dish were cold by the time they got to the table.

In saying all this, expectations were not high for this place. At one stage there were limited choices for lunch/dinner in Caroline Springs, but as the community has grown, so have the options.

This place isn't bad if you are looking for a simple lunch, with basic food and prices to match. But there are a number of places within a couple minutes walk that are much better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Went downhill fast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Once upon a time Aces used to be the only restaurant choice in Caroline Springs, and they did not take advantage of the community by that fact, in fact they served excellent meals at value for money, and the service was outstanding. Over the course of the past few years there have been numerous new restaurants open up in the vicinity, and it almost seems like Aces has become defensive. Their menu totally changed about 18 months ago, from a beautiful photo book menu of a great mix of dishes to what seems to be an attempt to be too Italian, and with a font that is so hard to read. Whenever I used to walk past the place was always busy busy busy but now the crowds have dwindled. They used to make the best scallopini and such good pasta dishes, one thing that has remained is the great pizzas, and sadly that is all I will order now as take away.
Having not been there for about 12 months now I am unsure if they have changed at all or got rid of the new chef that changed the menus but I've had friends who have gone and said its still nowhere near what it used to be.
Aces, bring back the old menu please, the one you built your business on.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“try it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very good family restaurant. Been 3 times and have enjoyed the food. Tasty good value especially the lunch time mon-thurs this is excellent value. Crepes are great. meals sometimes a little long to come but overall service is very friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A good place for breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Ace's place is actually two places. The restaurant and the food court cafe. Both in the Caroline Springs shopping centre.
We didn't use the restaurant, but breakfasted at the cafe several times.
Good food, coffee freshly ground for each cup, a good selection of teas, and suprisingly low prices. Egg and bacon muffin plus large coffee for AU$5.50

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Popular Italian style dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Good service, prices reasonable, great menu, blackboard specials worth a look, food very good, licensed.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace's Place also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ace's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.