We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For steak coineuseurs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squires Loft

Squires Loft
166 Toorak Road | South Yarra Victoria, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
(03) 9824 0999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 3,912 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The first Squires Loft was opened in 1992 in Church Street Brighton. Our reputation for consistently delivering great steaks and unique flavours led us to a larger store in South Yarra where we are still located today. The success of the Squires Loft formula and demand for Squires Loft branded products led to substantial interest from staff, customers and business owners who wanted to duplicate the business. This has resulted in 15 steakhouse restaurants operating around Australia. These steakhouses are located around Melbourne, Country Victoria, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Western Australia. Further steakhouses are in the pipeline and there is significant interest, which we believe should lead to more Squires Loft steakhouses opening. As a result of this demand and significant recognition of the Squires Loft name, Squires Loft FRANCHISE Pty Ltd has been formed to enable the expansion of the brand.
Balaclava, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“For steak coineuseurs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unbelievably great steaks with some of the best sauces in the world! Great service, not pretentious.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The steak destination!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful eye fillets, cooked perfectly.

We were lucky to get a reservation at short notice and were pleased we made the effort. Not knowing anything about Squires Loft, and seeing multiple locations I wondered whether it would be a mediocre chain restaurant - far from it :). Next time I am in Melbourne (or anywhere else they have a location) I will be back for more.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a terrible steak the night before but this place really produce a nice piece of meat. Unassuming and a real delight if your travelling solo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Steak Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place for a simple, honest steak meal. The style and decor is pretty simple, just wooden tables with matching chairs, paper napkins and decent steak knives.

It always busy so recommend you book, although the first time we went they managed to squeeze us in.

The wine list is pretty good and is one of the few restaurants that has Aus wine with any age on it.

We both had fillets, both done to perfection. Mine medium, his medium rare. The chips are great.

The service is friendly and efficient. It is a very busy restaurant so some patience may be needed but it really is good service.

The sticky date pudding was also very good. It is a good size so you may want to share.

Will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Feedback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff were fantastic. The venue is well positioned & quite spacious. I will return here when I have the opportunity

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires Loft also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Squires Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squires Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.