We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tea House at Chinatown

Tea House at Chinatown
11-17 Cohen Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9639 2526
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

While the service was good, the food was very average. Not much taste, poor presentation, average quality. Drinks were ok. Ambience quite nice although the music was not Chinese. I'm not sure how this place can survive in Melbourne - it was quite a let down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a little gem in the heart of Chinatown.
An upmarket place, but they treated me well even though I was hot and dusty in shorts and tee shirt.

Excellent service, fabulous food.

Nice touches like a hot flannel and little plates of hot chili sauce and red chillies.

A wonderful experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonawarra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

In a quiet location away from busy Chinatown, Tea House was a nice relaxing place to dine. Quiet acoustics (so many restaurants are so loud these days) with nice food, well priced and very attentive service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice on a work trip. Nice food with reasonable service, food prices OK though more expensive than comparable restaurants in Adelaide on a par with Melbourne. Good wine choices and a nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, upscale Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been three times in the last year, and have always been impressed over the great service, the fantastic quality of food and their flexibility. I often dine alone and they always offer to make portions smaller (main) or larger (starter) to fitmy appetite.

I have been here weekdays and weekends and there has always been a sophiaticated buzz. Happy guests, good food, attentative service - what more can you ask for?

Now, I would not go here for a party night with the girls, or if I was 25 and wanted a lively youthful place - but certainly for a special occation, a business meal or just to enjoy excellent cooking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea House at Chinatown also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Tea House at Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea House at Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.