We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food experience in my Melbourne trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Hwaro Korean Barbecue

Melbourne Hwaro Korean Barbecue
Level Ground, 562 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9642 5696
Improve this listing
Ranked #686 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food experience in my Melbourne trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of the reviews for this restaurant before choosing it. I don't know why some said it was pricey, I found it really good value with 3 of us eating and drinking for $80, which I thought it was more than reasonable. It is not smokey, but yes, you can smell the smoke from the BBQ, which is what makes it particularly great. The wait staff are extremely helpful. It was my first time and I was told that normally they don't cook for us, especially when it's busy, but they did cook for us and everyone else too even when it got busy. Of course, they cooked it all flawlessly, and taught us a bit as we went along too. Everything was amazingly delicious and I can't wait to do this again. My only regret: not a big enough stomach to sample it all!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a delicious meal and experience. The wait staff and atmosphere was good. Bulgogi (marinated beef) was awesome!!! Portions are a bit small for the price you pay but overall excellent restaurant to dine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Korean Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hwaro is a very good Korean restaurant. The standouts were the pork belly ox tongue and rice, cooked with taro. Staff are helpful and friendly, service prompt and attentive. The grill adds a great flavour to the meat and mushrooms. Prices reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was our first time at a Korean BBQ place, and we were not disappointed. Marinated pork ribs and spicy calamari together with mushrooms filled us up and all for $60 (including drinks). The service was great, and as we were clearly novices, the staff patiently explained all the side dishes and kept a close eye to make sure our food was cooked perfectly. We only landed at this restaurant by accident and were very happy that we did. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best korean bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Best korean bbq in the city in Melbourne. Their spicy pork belly & beef are great!
They have special rice with taro as well, which is a nice touch.

It can be expensive but the food is worth it. Definitely also recommend ordering the large hot pot to share (the one with spam!)

the place is usually packed so if you wanna go for dinner at Hwaro, it is best to give them a call & make reservation.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Hwaro Korean Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Hwaro Korean Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Hwaro Korean Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.