We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
68-170 Lt Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3181, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9654 6778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I reckon this is right up there in the top two or three Italian restaurants in Melbourne. The food is very well prepared and presented, the wine list is extensive and the service oozes with professionalism. The menu is rather short but high in quality. Busy restaurant with good ambience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had mixed up restaurants and booked Il Bacaro thinking it was Becco - so when I entered little Collins street I knew I had booked the incorrect place.I was meeting Clients here so decided to stick to this restaurant and was not disappointed .

The setting is really cosy and nice crisp white table clothes are a nice touch.We ordered a shared plate of wagyu carpaccio which was devine,we followed up with cannelloni,and Elk which I had not tried before -this meat was tender and tasty - cooked to perfection..My Colleague has a scallop dish which also was superb.

One thing that got under my skin a little was our Waiter - not a smile seen all lunch - way to cool for school - someone needs to tap this particular ( Young Blonde guy ) on the shoulder and remind him he is in the hospitality business - a smile costs nothing and this would have been a negative review if the food was not so great.

We will come back and do recommend this place

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good without being outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a lovely time, wait staff were great and the food was lovely
Agree that the spaghettini was disappointing with a distinct lack of Morton bay bugs
The saffron pasta special with spanner crab was delicious and sweets were fantastic
Tables are close together so not much privacy

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waygu beef and oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Love small restaurants with diverse patrons and inventive food. This is one of them. Our server was a pro. Wine list is a delight. Food choices are creative. One of us had oysters and beef. Well presented and prepared. The other had a salad followed by risotto. Yes, we would return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Cuisine in Melbourne CBD, Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have been eating here for over 10 years. This week during the second week of the 2014 Australian Open Tennis I met friends here for dinner. The Calimari was perfect as was the Veal cheek. The prices were reasonable, service excellent and the wine list has great variety and is well priced. It can get noisy but is much better than many newer trendy places that also seem to have poorer service and higher prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.