We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good for the average diner...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
68-170 Lt Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3181, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9654 6778
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #43 of 3,885 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too good for the average diner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Il Bacaro over 50 times over the last 7 years. Never have I been disappointed. These are the "safest hands" on the stellar Melbourne dining scene. But leave it to the regulars, who love the place. This is too good for the average diner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    57
    29
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic food, Superb Value and Great Customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This little place on Little Collins st is one of Melbourne hidden gems and certainly is a must visit.
s
The customer service was great - the waiter were all well presented, very informative and friendly and most importantly only had to be asked for something once and it was brought to you.

It has fantastic ambience and really is a lovely place to dine at, it has a touch of New York to it with its dimmed lights and gatsby type music playing softly in the backround.

The quality of food is some of the best i've ever experienced, portions size as exactly spot on so you're not left feeling hungry or too full where the food is lost on you. Presentation was sensational and it really did taste exquisite.

This place really is great value for money, i cannot fault it at all, all the dishes were immaculate, well valued and presented.

Do yourself a favour and visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A true gem in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away on little Collins street, this little Italian restaurant is filled with an amazing atmosphere and service to match.
We have been back numerous times for one dish in particular... Moreton Bay Bug pasta. I was tempted to order it for entree and main once it's that phenomenal.
But the entrees without fail every single time have not failed to deliver - the mix of flavours always spot on and delicious.
The wine list is extensive and the sommelier always has had amazing suggestions.
Love it, highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After hearing rave reviews from many friends I finally got to go to Il Bacaro with a good friend of mine. We booked a table for lunch and stayed for a good while, thoroughly enjoying the food, wine and service.

I started with the Jerusalem Artichoke and my friend had the Venison Carpaccio. My artichoke came with a scallop in ribbons and a wonderful pickled mussel. Both dishes were so beautiful in such different ways.

My friend then had the Moreton Bay Bug Spaghetti, which had the classic clean and simple flavours of Italian cooking that I love. The Bugs were lovely and Juicy.

Then I had the duck, and my friend the Suckling Pork. Again, both were to die for. I have never had such beautifully cooked duck before, the skin just melted in my mouth.

We finished by sharing the Agave Cheesecake which was the highlight for me (just!). It came with fairy floss, honeycomb, violet ice cream and popping rocks. A truly unique dish that I will come back for.

The staff were very helpful with wine recommendations. We chose to have a different glass with each course and all were delicious and well matched. It was a wonderful way to spend a relaxed afternoon, and we both felt that the value for money was outstanding, considering the expertise that was apparent in every aspect of our time there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the quiet end of Lt. Collins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are on the lookout for a quiet place with a very intimate ambiance, this restaurant is worth the try. Bookings are essential because the seats are limited, and there are also a few bar chairs. Servings are well plated and not as sizeable as other restaurants. No complains about the taste and it is evident that food is well prepared, flavours are not compromised as ingredients are not taken for granted. Waiters seem to frown a bit on sharing food as it is certainly not a family style place. Dining is on the pricey side. I am a bit underwhelmed considering the reviews I've read.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.