We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, Superb Value and Great Customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
68-170 Lt Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3181, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9654 6778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic food, Superb Value and Great Customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This little place on Little Collins st is one of Melbourne hidden gems and certainly is a must visit.
s
The customer service was great - the waiter were all well presented, very informative and friendly and most importantly only had to be asked for something once and it was brought to you.

It has fantastic ambience and really is a lovely place to dine at, it has a touch of New York to it with its dimmed lights and gatsby type music playing softly in the backround.

The quality of food is some of the best i've ever experienced, portions size as exactly spot on so you're not left feeling hungry or too full where the food is lost on you. Presentation was sensational and it really did taste exquisite.

This place really is great value for money, i cannot fault it at all, all the dishes were immaculate, well valued and presented.

Do yourself a favour and visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A true gem in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away on little Collins street, this little Italian restaurant is filled with an amazing atmosphere and service to match.
We have been back numerous times for one dish in particular... Moreton Bay Bug pasta. I was tempted to order it for entree and main once it's that phenomenal.
But the entrees without fail every single time have not failed to deliver - the mix of flavours always spot on and delicious.
The wine list is extensive and the sommelier always has had amazing suggestions.
Love it, highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After hearing rave reviews from many friends I finally got to go to Il Bacaro with a good friend of mine. We booked a table for lunch and stayed for a good while, thoroughly enjoying the food, wine and service.

I started with the Jerusalem Artichoke and my friend had the Venison Carpaccio. My artichoke came with a scallop in ribbons and a wonderful pickled mussel. Both dishes were so beautiful in such different ways.

My friend then had the Moreton Bay Bug Spaghetti, which had the classic clean and simple flavours of Italian cooking that I love. The Bugs were lovely and Juicy.

Then I had the duck, and my friend the Suckling Pork. Again, both were to die for. I have never had such beautifully cooked duck before, the skin just melted in my mouth.

We finished by sharing the Agave Cheesecake which was the highlight for me (just!). It came with fairy floss, honeycomb, violet ice cream and popping rocks. A truly unique dish that I will come back for.

The staff were very helpful with wine recommendations. We chose to have a different glass with each course and all were delicious and well matched. It was a wonderful way to spend a relaxed afternoon, and we both felt that the value for money was outstanding, considering the expertise that was apparent in every aspect of our time there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the quiet end of Lt. Collins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are on the lookout for a quiet place with a very intimate ambiance, this restaurant is worth the try. Bookings are essential because the seats are limited, and there are also a few bar chairs. Servings are well plated and not as sizeable as other restaurants. No complains about the taste and it is evident that food is well prepared, flavours are not compromised as ingredients are not taken for granted. Waiters seem to frown a bit on sharing food as it is certainly not a family style place. Dining is on the pricey side. I am a bit underwhelmed considering the reviews I've read.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“small little italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Has a business lunch here with client. Good food and good atmosphere. I would go back, located in paris end of little collins. Some great little boutique fashion shops around for some retail therapy after lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.