We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra to your Saves list
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 - 29 Claremont Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Quest SXY South Yarra) (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just spent four nights at these Apartments and was more than satisfied. Our two bedroom apartment was an adequate size and had all the kitchen amenities we needed to fix a light breakfast or snack. Great to have a balcony - ours overlooked some sort of sports playing field. Both rooms and bathrooms were a pretty good size too. Apartment was cleaned daily and fresh towels were left. This apartment made for a perfect base for us to wander down Chapel Street for some retail therapy or to try out the many fantastic restaurants and cafes situated in the area. Reception was friendly and very accommodating. On arrival I requested more coat hangers and there was a knock on the door within 10 minutes with some for us. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
12
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent one night here in October, travelling for work. Room was quite big and banlcony a nice touch and the hotel is quite modern. Amenities were clean however choice of mini bar snacks was limited at the time and had to be purchased from reception. Was also no milk in the room for tea or coffee but the choice of in room dining was quite nice and would suit anyone's needs.

Staff were friendly however the car park is a bit confusing. Its at the back of the building on another street entrance and parking is at the very bottom of the car park. Lifts were a bit confusing and I ended up using the lift for another building and having to walk back to the hotel (look for the white sign saying lifts to quest, they are directly under it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just come back from a business trip to Melbourne where I stayed at the Quest SXY. Fab location in South Yarra, easy walking distance to Chapel Street and just around the corner from the train station, very convenient for the City.

Room great and free wifi, always appreciated! Staff very helpful. Will definitely stay there again if I'm back in Melbourne!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located in a back street but within walking distance to Chapel Street.Reception was good and remained open until 11pm which is unusual for apartments.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very clean.The apartment was rather dark as the only main window was the patio doors which the concrete balcony wall cut out some light.This did not give off a rather depressing feeling.The TV reception on all channels was full of snow which there is no excuse for.The management should rectify this.
Chapel Street has Fridays Restaurant plus many others and some great pubs and is an excellent place to stay.The train close by gets you into the city in 10 minutes although the ticketing system is bizarre.
All in all a good place to stay to avoid the high city prices just dont expect to watch some TV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked an 1 BR Executive Apartment at the Quest SXY in South Yarra for 6 nights in
July 2013.
The room we got (Mezzanine 1) even with best intentions, I could not call a 4 star Executive Apartment!
It would have been at very best a standard Apartment!

The Apartment was clean and tidy but stuffy. Even running the noisy aircon did not provide fresh air. There is no way to air the bedroom.
The Apartment gave me the impression to live in box in a carpark. The outlook from the only window was very ordinary, into offices across the road.
At night the flood lights from the nearby tennis court illuminated the whole apartment.
This apartment was noisy from neighbours above and next door.

But worst of all was the noise from the lift. Every time the lift door opened and closed it felt like a roar from a train at the nearby railway line. Extremly disruptive and disturbing!
Sorry, to say, but this Apartment is below average.
If I book and pay for an executive Apartment I don’t expect a standard Apartment.

Room Tip: Do not accept Mezzanine floor for more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family of 4 spent a long weekend at Quest SXY in South Yarra. Don't get it confused with Quest South Yarra. The 2 properties almost back onto each other, but have different owners & this is a smaller, more boutique property.

We had a particularly large 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Despite other reviewers comments our apartment was whisper quiet with no train noise. The decor was tasteful & the space looked almost brand new.

Overall it felt like a new large apartment, not a hotel. There was a large entrance hall and the bedrooms were well separated. The kitchen was fully equipped, and the bathrooms spacious. The heating worked well in cold Melbourne, but I note the second bedroom did not have airconditioning for summer.

Just across the road is a fabulous cafe, '2 Birds 1Stone'. It's young and funky with good food & great coffee. (Even the decaf was good.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an excellent location for convenient walking access to some very good nearby restaurants, coffee and the S. Yarra train station. The 1 bedroom configuration was small and lacking workspace but did have a modest galley kitchen that is appropriate for simple cooking or reheating leftovers. Our booking package included both Internet service (which is a decent speed for what I've experienced elsewhere in Australia) and underground parking. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with our requests.

The only problem appears to be a temporary one, with two (possibly three) large scale construction projects immediately adjacent to the Quest building. Privacy and noise were an issue, as construction begins daily before 7:00 AM every day (workers can be heard by 6:30) and was immediately outside of our balcony... as if we shared breakfast with the crew each day. When the construction boom ends in Melbourne, I expect that this will be a much nicer place to stay, until which time I still recommend the property but suggest a high floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Address: 27 - 29 Claremont Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Quest SXY South Yarra)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amity Apartment Hotels, located in the prestigious South Yarra suburb of Melbourne, is your home away from home. Featuring contemporary yet comfortable furnishings and upscale extras, any length of stay is a pleasure.Close proximity to established suburbs of Toorak, Prahran, Windsor, Richmond, Malvern, St. Kilda, and Melbourne City Centre, Amity Hotel is ideally located for the corporate traveller, leisure guest and tourist or family in transition. Accommodation includes a variety of apartment style rooms from studios to four bedrooms. Each apartment is stylishly designed with a contemporary but functional flair. Secure undercover parking and the on-site swimming pool and gymnasium are among the many amenities offered. You'll be as comfortable as you are impressed by your surroundings.Public transportation is conveniently located just around the corner near Chapel Street and Toorak Road's chic boutique shops. Cafes serving delicious coffee and good food are plentiful when you need a break and refreshment. Amity Apartment Hotels is near Toorak, the best leading private and public schools, major universities as well as Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Stadium and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Whatever the reason for being in Melbourne, you will have a lovely home away from home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Sxy South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Quest Sxy South Yarra Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.