We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and quite adequate...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne to your Saves list
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   528 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, quiet and quite adequate...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during January (while tennis was on so prices were 'event pricing' as was most accommodation at that time) and felt that we had good value for money. The studio apartment was clean, quiet and was sufficient for our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful! The location was excellent with a tram stop just down the street. Our apartment was on the inside of the building (windows opened onto a central courtyard area) and we did not hear street noise at all. I would stay there again if looking for moderately priced accommodation close to the city centre.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    27
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
18
27
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with the apartment we were given. The negative reviews I read were not indicative of our experience at all. The lounge room included a couch, dining table and chairs, good-sized television(with DVD player) and furniture was of good quality. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom had plenty of room. There was a dishwasher in the kitchen area and ample cooking and dining equipment provided.The apartment was sparsely decorated but that did not affect the quality of our room. Friendly and helpful Staff!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard and not on the Swanston Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is good value for money but whatever you do, bring your earplugs. It is unbelievable noisy in the rooms that front onto Swanston St. I suggest requesting a room at the back of building. Trams run til midnight and they are non stop until then. We too noted the cooking smells filtering through the building from about 6pm onwards. You could open a window but its far too noisy. Rooms were suprisingly clean as we too read previous reviews and were pleasantly suprised. Bed is ok and we are pretty fussy but pillows are old and tired. BYO pillow! Rooms are functional and efficient, desk staff friendly and handled complaints well. Great location (a block from Lygon St). Overall not a bad place to stay if you get your choice of room!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Cooking smells all night - really strong pungent smells through all clothing left in the room.
Noisy (the noisiest I've EVER experienced and that includes sleeping on board working offshore oil rigs). Resorted to ear plugs and drugs.
Horrible "hole in the wall" office (althought the girls there were friendly and tried their best).
Two single beds pushed together to make a Queen siized bed (yeah right)... second room had a std. double bed which they tried to pass of as Queen sized.
Air conditioning is really noisy but on the plus side it overshadows some of the noise from outside.
A great location, but sleeping in the park might be a more atractive option for some.

Room Tip: Try another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I strongly resent paying for the first 2 nights out of our 6 night stay and wish we had read more reviews before we booked. We did want budget accommodation compared to most Melbourne prices but it cannot be even described as that. The room must have been the worst of the whole place. Having come from a chaotic airport experience it became our hell and our first experience of Melbourne hospitality. The photos on the website are false advertising for this place at least. Our bed sheets still had pubic hairs and dirt from previous persons, the phone didn't work to complain, the heater rattled, the walls were dirty and the bathroom spelled like a sewer. After ranting to the night manager, two days later we were transferred to a better, cleaner room. It then became tolerable but I can't get this stay out of my memory. Only good point was the staff helpfulness but would never recommend to anyone. It is located to many central features but depending on rooms you either experience major traffic noise or lift usage. Ironically the website says all their apartments are modern, stylish and spacious so this is a complete farce. How can modern be old tv's, no sky, no electric blankets, stained walls and accessories, worn out furniture?

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend it but we chose it through photos on the website. Okay if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Smelly apartment, extremely uncomfortable bed, broken ironing board and hairdryer, unclean fridge (with someone else's leftovers still inside), heating was not good either! I would never ever stay here again. Front desk staff lovely, but the place itself was a disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Address: 528 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.