We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tramcar Restaurant Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
Corner Clarendon and Whiteman Streets | South Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3205, Australia (Southbank)
3 9696 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,026 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $101
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
NZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tramcar Restaurant Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There were four of us "girls" away for a long weekend and we were advised to do the tramcar dining and we're very glad we did. The food was amazing and the service was lovely. We did lunch as we thought the late dinner was very expensive. The only thing I would fault was that there was no dessert. The cheese board was very nice but I would rather have had something sweet to finish off my meal. The wine selection was lovely and very plentiful. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    372
    58
    16
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A must while in Melbourne. Excellent food, plenty of drink, great staff, fantastic setting, wonderful time, would do again. Thank you to the team on Tram 4 that night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant and it didn't disappoint. The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and it was a great atmosphere dining as you travel through Melbourne. Would definitely do this again. We booked about three weeks before we went and got the last two seats on a Tuesday night, so I would definitely book well in advance if you want a particular date.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Forget the 7 Wonders of the World"......Tramcar Restaurant is better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Went on Tramcar Restaurant for late dinner last night to celebrate my 50th Birthday. My husband & I enjoyed every minute. The whole ambience of the great Food and Wine and the excellent service provided by Warwick and Chef Gary was from a bygone era. It was fantastic. There were several birthdays within our section of the car including myself and we all received a candle in our dessert and Warwick had everyone sing "Happy Birthday" to us all. It was great. We had a pleasant trip round city and out to St Kilda pier. Views at night were good. Is equal to 5 star dining anywhere.
Thankyou Warwick and Chef Gary for a wonderful night and great Birthday.
Would highly recommend to any one visiting Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, NSW, AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

4 of us ladies celebrated a birthday on the Tramcar Restaurant. There was nothing we didn't like. The food was great and the three men who looked after us: Garry, Tim and Antoine were all excellent. We all decided we would go again next time we are in Melbourne and try the lunchtime trip as we did the dinner trip this time. Make sure you book well in advance. Highly recommend this experience to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.