We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant
Corner Clarendon and Whiteman Streets | South Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3205, Australia (Southbank)
3 9696 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,997 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $101
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A fun night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our first trip on this Melbourne icon. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was all over too soon. Our trip took us down bayside to Ackland St and return; a pity they don't seem to go into the city but maybe that happens on other sessions. Food was sound if not exciting but my wife found the fish (an advance option) a little dry; the mains were either beef or chicken otherwise and the beef was excellent. Deserts also very nice. Pity about the coffee though - power draw may be an issue possibly, but they really should consider putting a real coffee machine on the tram as it would make an enormous difference. Otherwise a good night out and something for anybody wishing to do something different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    981
    353
    56
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An enjoyable night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food is good and the wine plentiful. The tram itself is nicely decked out and it looked old and authentic even if it wasn’t. The service was very good with the waiting staff doing what must have been a challenging job well. This tram may be the only tram used by tourists in Melbourne as the somewhat anal retentive authorities have made it nigh on impossible for tourists to use the regular tram services, You have to buy a special pre-paid card, from secret locations that are often nowhere near the tram routes. So, although it was expensive it was good to be able travel the tram routes of Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas in July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent with family for bday.Glad it was during the day got to see a little more of Melbourne. Great food and wine. Staff were amazing friendly and attentive ...loved the singing !!! Most enjoyable day wld highly recommend!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and different way to see Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The first thing I noticed once on board is how well the tram had been restored. The food was the best bit, I really enjoyed the grilled salmon it was so moist and tasted amazing. The waiters were always coming around to fill your glass. Well worth the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I must say we did this for the cheesy factor, as we have lived around the area for quite a while.

The service was excellent, the food was very good and the experience was awesome.

I can't say I would do it again but I'm glad I did it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria

Been to The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.