We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana

Villa Romana
Lygon Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03 9650 7990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #713 of 2,878 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Exellent service. food a little on the slow side,expensive but you get what you pay for it was good value overall you can tell its under new management love the ambience & the people here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I actually have eaten here twice in the last week both time entertaining customers from interstate. With Generous portion size and reasonable prices you can't go wrong. Everyone commented on how wonderful their meals were.
The services was wonderful and very prompt. The building its self still has that old world charm. The only complain if I had to make one was that my dessert was a little burnt (Apple and berry crumble).
The other thing is that the guest toilets were up stairs and I didn't see any disabled toilets down stairs but there may have been.

How ever over all wonderful dinning experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Back for another go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had another work function at Villa Romana, this time with 12 colleagues.

I would have to say that if anything, the experience was even better than our last visit a month ago. The Antipasto was a great way to start accompanied by dips and also garlic pizza. My steak was cooked to perfection and my dessert was also superb. We also had excellent wines to accompany the great food.

We had with us guest (colleagues) from interstate, and they really enjoyed the "Italian" experience in Lygon St which is unmissable.

On this visit the service was flawless.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food was so yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

- Excellent Service
- Friendly People
- Food was amazing
- Great ambience
- Great Prices

Perfect & romantic for couples.
I love this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Living in a suburb of Melbourne, we often visit Lygon St because of the great atmosphere and excellent selection of good food. Villa Romana is not what I would say is one of the best restaurants on the strip, but it has been consistently quite good authentic Italian cuisine.

This occasion was a business dinner with 7 other associates, and again the food was great, though the service was a bit on the slow side. I guess if you're enjoying a good bottle of wine and robust conversation, slow service is not necessarily a problem, but if you're on a deadline it could be different.

You can usually tell which of the restaurants on Lygon St are worth trying... the not so good ones are usually completely empty. Villa Romana is not one of those. The atmosphere is also great, and the food selection is quite diverse. The wines are also reasonably priced.

They do an excellent grilled flounder, though this time I had a steak, which was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana also viewed

 

Been to Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.