We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana

Villa Romana
Lygon Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Lygon Street)
61396507990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #582 of 3,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Description: Villa Romana Carlton is a double Story Victorian Terrace situated in the heart of Melbourne's "Little Italy", located in Lygon Street, Carlton. During many of Melbourne's many sporting events like Australian Open Tennis, The Grand Prix in March and the Melbourne Cup in November, Lygon Street really comes alive, buzzing with excitement and atmosphere. When it comes to food and feasting, nobody does it quite like the Italians either. It's always warm, fun and festive. Villa Romana Carlton keeps things interesting enough with their wide variety of homemade dishes to ensure that you always look forward to your next visit.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Exellent service. food a little on the slow side,expensive but you get what you pay for it was good value overall you can tell its under new management love the ambience & the people here

Helpful?
Thank Ayvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I actually have eaten here twice in the last week both time entertaining customers from interstate. With Generous portion size and reasonable prices you can't go wrong. Everyone commented on how wonderful their meals were.
The services was wonderful and very prompt. The building its self still has that old world charm. The only complain if I had to make one was that my dessert was a little burnt (Apple and berry crumble).
The other thing is that the guest toilets were up stairs and I didn't see any disabled toilets down stairs but there may have been.

How ever over all wonderful dinning experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Back for another go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had another work function at Villa Romana, this time with 12 colleagues.

I would have to say that if anything, the experience was even better than our last visit a month ago. The Antipasto was a great way to start accompanied by dips and also garlic pizza. My steak was cooked to perfection and my dessert was also superb. We also had excellent wines to accompany the great food.

We had with us guest (colleagues) from interstate, and they really enjoyed the "Italian" experience in Lygon St which is unmissable.

On this visit the service was flawless.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food was so yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

- Excellent Service
- Friendly People
- Food was amazing
- Great ambience
- Great Prices

Perfect & romantic for couples.
I love this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank MissNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Living in a suburb of Melbourne, we often visit Lygon St because of the great atmosphere and excellent selection of good food. Villa Romana is not what I would say is one of the best restaurants on the strip, but it has been consistently quite good authentic Italian cuisine.

This occasion was a business dinner with 7 other associates, and again the food was great, though the service was a bit on the slow side. I guess if you're enjoying a good bottle of wine and robust conversation, slow service is not necessarily a problem, but if you're on a deadline it could be different.

You can usually tell which of the restaurants on Lygon St are worth trying... the not so good ones are usually completely empty. Villa Romana is not one of those. The atmosphere is also great, and the food selection is quite diverse. The wines are also reasonably priced.

They do an excellent grilled flounder, though this time I had a steak, which was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing