We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartment and handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment and handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed in Dec for 8 nights with a family of 4. Apartment is clean and spacious and location is very handy. My only complaint was the noise from the apartment above especially on the weekend. Overall a pleasant stay but may try another apartment next time I visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments

I am sorry to hear you had some noisy neighbours that disrupted your stay. Please know that we understand all our valued guests should have a peaceful environment at all times and we do not tolerate those that disrespect this. I apologise that these guests were not identified in order for our staff to put an end to it.

I am glad you found the apartment to your liking though.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed on the 21st floor in a studio room with a small kitchenette and queen bed. The room was satisfactory but I would go back. However, my colleagues shared a 2 bedroom apartment suite and it was excellent complete with hardwood floors on the 10th floor.

I stayed there during the Australian Open tennis and it was way overpriced.

What was bad about the single room was it is too small to have a desk, the closet is tiny, there was nowhere to put soap, or anything else in the shower, room is very small. Whats good is the location, there is laundry on the first floor and it has a 24 hour reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your assesment on your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale over the Australian Open tennis.

Whilst disappointing to read that you found your stay overpriced, we certainly take your comments on board for consideration. For a slightly higher price, our 1 Bedroom apartments are much larger and contain a laundry, desk, dining table, balcony and full-size kitchen for those preferring to get some dreaded laundry done and also have the bonus of floating floorboards as opposed to the Studio apartments.

The missing soap dish in your apartment was replaced after your departure.

Once again, thanks for your comments, as these are truly valued from each and every guest that stays with us as we strive to maintain high standards in all facets of accommdoation provision and service.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here with a with a friend for 3 nights over the Australia Day weekend. Everything was fantastic. The room was very quiet, well equipped and the beds were so comfortable. The hotel is central to the museum, Her Majesty's Theatre, the city circle tram stop, Chinatown and also has an great IGA supermarket just about next door. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your stay with us over Australian Open weekend and happy to hear you could not fault the property or service received. I trust you had a great time at the Open and were able to cool down sufficiently upon returning to the hotel!

We will see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We rented a 1-bedroom (twin) for 5 nights at this central serviced apartment. Apart from a lack lustre welcome from a receptionist (where is service with a smile?) we loved it. The apartment was roomy with lots of wardrobe space, good kitchen and a balcony to view the city from. It was serviced daily, beds made and fresh towels supplied. We were able to get extra pillows, towels and found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Supermarket next door and a tram stop close by. I will recommend to friends - and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will address them. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment and hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner and I will never return to this hotel!!

We barely got any sleep because they join single beds up to make up larger beds! Apparently in the whole building they do not have 1 double, queen or king size bed.

In our booking description it said "one extra large double". We were given two single beds joined by a strap and with blankets on top to cover this. The beds were different heights so not only could you feel a huge lump in the bed, there was a drop between the two sides!!

When we complained the rude receptionist basically said no one else has ever had a problem. After speaking to "Bhavin" the manager and being hung up on, he agreed to refund us the 2nd night. We were checked out after the first night as we could not bare another night on that bed. Mantra on Russell Street were only too happy to provide us with a comfortable bed in a studio apartment for a much better price.

My complaint to head office was responded with "Unfortunately, all beds are king split so they weren’t able to find a large double bed at the property which wasn’t a kind split"

For $550 for a two night stay in a one bedroom apartment this is poor effort.

My advice is to spend your money elsewhere :)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else with proper beds and kind staff !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you found the bed you stayed in was uncomfortable and this has been rectified as a matter of urgency to prevent future guests experiencing the same issue.

As previously stated in direct correspondance prior to this Tripadvisor post, at no stage did anystaff member hang up on you including the Front Office Manager who was incapale of safely taking your initial phone call and called you back when he was able to.

I apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion but thank you for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have just stayed at this property for 3 nights with 7 friends. The apartments were fantastic, well located, with lovely outlooks, clean and well maintained. Our check-in and out was very quick and no request was too difficult. Can highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am very pleased to read your comments and that you found your stay to be faultless. We pride ourselves on providing clean and well maintained apartments for all guests to enjoy and of course all with a smile from our helpful team. See you soon and hope the weather was OK for you!

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#82 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#123 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing