We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot, convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ideal spot, convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    234
    63
    28
    18
See reviews for
90
173
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penshurst, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just had a great 6 days in a one bedroom apartment, it is certainly worth the extra money. Room service was excellent and staff helpful. The only criticism I had was that there was no washing machine in the apartment. I enquired about this on Thursday and was told a report would be made to maintenance. Again on Friday we asked at reception an explanation was given that she would contact maintenance and have a spare machine put in the room. We checked out today (Sunday) still no sign of washing machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments though a little disappointed to hear that the washing machine was not installed into your apartment as promised. I shall investigate as to why this did not happen and ensure that no reoccurence happens in the future. My sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here at Oaks on Lonsdale

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in January 2014. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the room was magnificent and well worth the $$ paid. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD oaks on lonsdale was by far the best.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments and happy to hear you found all aspects of your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale pleasurable and to your satisfaction.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Apartments are large and spacious, all cooking utensils supplied also had a dishwasher which was good. Only criticism would be the iPod station didnt work and the staff couldn't fix it and there were no chairs on the balcony, would have been nice to sit out on it.
Would stay again as reception staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the feedback you have provided concerning your stay with us. Should you have not already advised a staff member during your stay regarding the absent balcony chairs then it would be greatly appreciated if you could call the property to advise the apartment number where you were staying so we can rectify this immediately. I apologise for them not being there as they should have.

Thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I booked a studio with twin beds online with 'wotif' and got a good rate. When my daughter and I arrived they offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for $30 per night. We decided to take up their offer and were surprised with a very spacious comfortable apartment with all the mod cons we could every need for our 7 night stay. The beds, chairs and lounge were all very comfortable. It is not smack in the centre of town but the No.96 tram runs very nearby that goes straight through the centre of town (Bourke St Mall) and down to St Kilda. There is also a train station at the end of the street with the Circle Route. The view from our room was stunning. The apartment had a washer combined dryer. The dryer was not effective and the staff happily provided me with a clothes rack to dry wet items. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a nice quiet, pleasant stay in Lonsdale Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Very glad to hear your week long visit to Oaks on Lonsdale and Melbourne was enjoyable and you took advantage of the spaciousness that the 1 bedroom apartment offers compared to the studio.

Have a wonderful new year and see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a sky high room. The room was beautiful, the view was stunning, it was quiet and the air con worked quickly, so it was quick to get the room pleasant and comfortable. Bed was comfy and full size fridge and cooking facilities were great. Only 5 mins walk to the city circle tram, or we walked to most parts of the CBD within 30 mins, including down to south bank, and we also wandered down to the docklands (a slightly longer walk, but not too bad).

So all up, you could argue that it doesn't ooze 5 star class or snobbishness, but the staff were all really friendly and there was nothing for which we were left wanting, so for the price you pay, I'd wholeheartedly recommend it!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale in one of the Sky High apartments on level 29 and we thank you for taking the time to provide the above feedback. Have a wonderful New year and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the property in 2014.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very helpfull staff and modern, tidy rooms. also really good location to resyaurants and tourist sights. However no locks on bathroom doors was strange and I could not see the reason for it. Also only place we stayed in Oz that we had to pay to use the wifi and at $5 for 30 mins it's not cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback for your stay with us in December.

I am a little surpised to hear that there was no lock on the door of the bathroom in your apartment and if you did not mention this to staff during your stay, I would really appreciate a quick call or email so we can remedy immediately as all bathrooms should have locking mechanisms.

Each guest does have access to 30 mintues complimentary Wi-Fi access for each day of their stay but there are charges thereafter as you stated. We appreciate your thoughts and have taken them on board.

We trust you had a great New Year and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.