We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #56 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Tauranga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our welcome from the moment we arrived was amazing. The staff we met during our week stay were so helpful and concerned for our comfort that nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We had booked a I bed apt and were, gratefully, given an upgrade. The apt was very tidy, with everything we could wish for during our short stay. Central location ( important with diminished mobility)and all transport ,retail, and entertainment within easy walking distance. Would certainly stay again. Many thanks to front staff Perry, Aida and Vishnu for the experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing N/NE for view and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
So pleased to hear of your great stay with us and for your terrific rating. I shall certainly pass on your positive comments regarding the hospitality shown by our affable front desk team.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    201
    53
    21
    15
See reviews for
77
160
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I arrived in the studio I booked to discover it was smaller than I expected, with no desk or table and no chairs, so the only place to sit was on the bed. Personally, I can't see the point of having a kitchenette, if there's not even a tiny table to eat at or a chair to sit on. I had asked for a quiet location, but could hear the conversation next door clearly through a locked door to the adjoining apartment. I contacted reception and was relocated to a one bedroom apartment for $30 extra a night. It was well worth the upgrade.
My apartment was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is really close to public transport, with Parliament station just a minute or two away and it's just a short walk to the shopping mall.There's an IGA supermarket and bottle shop right next door. Couldn't be more convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view Don't book a studio if you want to eat in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback which I am sure prospective future guest of Oaks Lonsdale will find beneficial. Our studios are advertised as being compact and the slightly higher rates for the 1 Bedroom apartment are well worth it should you be looking for that extra space. Not only do you get the seperate bedroom to the living area but you also will get a full kitchen, balcony and at least double the floor space. I am gald we had the availability to provide the option of upgrading you on the day so that you were comfortable and trust we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Oaks on Lonsdale is more of a service appartment than a hotel, making it a great option for business travellers who prefer a no-frills space at a a really, really good location - walking distance from most offices, resturants, theatres, cafes and a tram station. Every room comes with a balcony with a great view, making it a great place to put up your feet and work or unwind in the evening with a drink or two.
There's a lot of space - the living room is big enough for a bunch of people to hang out and the kitchen and dining space is clean and well maintained by regular housekeeping. A special mention to the housekeeping staff - all of them friendly, courteous and efficient.
The bathroom comes with a washing machine and the kitchen's got everything you need to make quick meals for days you don't want to eat out. There's a small supermarket just next door for groceries and plenty of big ones down Lonsdale street.
The bed's comfy - I slept well all three times I stayed at Oaks and the service is great - the reception's open 24/7 so no worries if you're checking in or out at an unearthly hour.
For those who're looking for luxury, this isn't the place - Melbourne has plenty of five star hotels that'll do you better. But if you're a long-term business traveller, looking for comfort and a home away from home, look no further!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for the fabulous balcony views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We really appreciate your honest feedback to illustrate to potential guests the varying aspects of what Oaks on Lonsdale has to offer the business traveller. I will certainly relay your comments regarding the housekeeping staff to the team and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location - walking distance to all the popular cafes and restaurants in Melbourne CBD (as well as conveniently next to IGA supermarket). The hotel room was clean and equipped. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and glad to hear you will return to stay with us on your next visit to this city. We appreciate your comments and will strive to ensure the high standards we set out to achieve are maintained.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has become our first pick when we make our way over to Melbourne. Very few hotels have the views they offer and a balcony to soak in the scenery.
I recommend the 1 bedroom city view option when booking to get these views esp from a large bedroom window. Kitchen and dining table, clean and well maintained.
Located in the city center and just a walk away from a tram station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and look forward to having you stay with us yet again when you return to Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this apartment as I was invited to an opening in Melbourne and wanted to be close to the theatre. As I went with a girlfriend, we went for the two bedroom, two bathroom apartment which was perfect - as females we love to claim the bathroom as our own! The living area and kitchen were a good size and there were two balconies which is a bonus - one from the living area and the other from one of the bedrooms. The bed was comfortable and the view amazing from the 19th floor.

The bonus is staff monitor reception 24/7 and they are so friendly. Loved Aida, Bhavin and Vishnu thank you for your excellent customer service and laughs!

Now there is a cafe downstairs where I had breakfast and it's reasonably priced too. A lovely friendly Asian lady served me and she went above the call of duty as I'm so fussy when it comes to my eggs, bacon and bread. The only downfall is the cafe is open during business hours and closes early, so by the time we got back from being out all day it was closing up. The only downfall is one of the guys who works there must leave his smile and friendly nature at home, as compared to the lovely Asian lady who served me at breakfast time. He had no idea about customer service and how a friendly smile goes a long way - and also brings back repeat business. Nevertheless, there's a bakery up the road that stays open a little later, and Chinatown is only a couple of minutes away around the corner on Exhibition Street.

Another BONUS is next door is a 711 that stocks groceries AND alcohol, but that shuts around 10pm. There's a bus right out the front that takes you down Lonsdale Street and the bus driver was so lovely he let us ride to Spencer Street for free as we were tourists thinking we could buy our ticket on the bus - but that wasn't the case. I love the location of this hotel and it's so reasonably priced.

We had a late flight out and they allowed us to leave our bags there while we went out for the day.

I will definitely stay there again as not only is it convenient, but the rooms are lovely and when staff are also friendly it makes your stay just that little more special.

Room Tip: Try get the room away from the air conditioning system outside the floors as they can get noisy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here in one of our 2 Bedroom Executive apartments. For a slightly higher nightly rate that the standard 2 Bedroom apartment, you do receive a second bathroom, 2nd balcony, walk-in wardrobe from the main bedroom as well as a high floor with spectacular South-Eastern views over St Patricks Cathedral and the Sports precinct including the MCG. Really glad you found it comfortable for the 4 of you ladies. Our location is certainly ideal for anyone looking to see a show at any of the theatres and also dining at Chinatown.

I will pass on your comments to Aida, Vishnu and Bhavin and happy they were able to keep you entertained in their usual friendly and professional manner.

I will also pass on your comments about the service in the cafe next door to their management as they may find them of benefit though as it is not managed nor owned by Oaks.

Great to hear of your pleasant experience and it seems you really found a home away from home. We look forward to doing the same again when you are next in Melbourne and thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great size apartment TV in the bedroom .Apartment is fully self contained washing machine and dryer and full sized fridge. Staff very helpful and friendly . Great bed very comfortable . Location was good train and tram just outside the hotel .

Room Tip: Botanical garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Fantastic to hear of your enjoyment of the spacious apartments we have here and also our ideal location. Equally pleasing to read your comments about our staff and the whole team here at Oaks on Lonsdale hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Maris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list