We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #68 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location - walking distance to all the popular cafes and restaurants in Melbourne CBD (as well as conveniently next to IGA supermarket). The hotel room was clean and equipped. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and glad to hear you will return to stay with us on your next visit to this city. We appreciate your comments and will strive to ensure the high standards we set out to achieve are maintained.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    217
    56
    24
    17
See reviews for
80
166
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has become our first pick when we make our way over to Melbourne. Very few hotels have the views they offer and a balcony to soak in the scenery.
I recommend the 1 bedroom city view option when booking to get these views esp from a large bedroom window. Kitchen and dining table, clean and well maintained.
Located in the city center and just a walk away from a tram station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and look forward to having you stay with us yet again when you return to Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this apartment as I was invited to an opening in Melbourne and wanted to be close to the theatre. As I went with a girlfriend, we went for the two bedroom, two bathroom apartment which was perfect - as females we love to claim the bathroom as our own! The living area and kitchen were a good size and there were two balconies which is a bonus - one from the living area and the other from one of the bedrooms. The bed was comfortable and the view amazing from the 19th floor.

The bonus is staff monitor reception 24/7 and they are so friendly. Loved Aida, Bhavin and Vishnu thank you for your excellent customer service and laughs!

Now there is a cafe downstairs where I had breakfast and it's reasonably priced too. A lovely friendly Asian lady served me and she went above the call of duty as I'm so fussy when it comes to my eggs, bacon and bread. The only downfall is the cafe is open during business hours and closes early, so by the time we got back from being out all day it was closing up. The only downfall is one of the guys who works there must leave his smile and friendly nature at home, as compared to the lovely Asian lady who served me at breakfast time. He had no idea about customer service and how a friendly smile goes a long way - and also brings back repeat business. Nevertheless, there's a bakery up the road that stays open a little later, and Chinatown is only a couple of minutes away around the corner on Exhibition Street.

Another BONUS is next door is a 711 that stocks groceries AND alcohol, but that shuts around 10pm. There's a bus right out the front that takes you down Lonsdale Street and the bus driver was so lovely he let us ride to Spencer Street for free as we were tourists thinking we could buy our ticket on the bus - but that wasn't the case. I love the location of this hotel and it's so reasonably priced.

We had a late flight out and they allowed us to leave our bags there while we went out for the day.

I will definitely stay there again as not only is it convenient, but the rooms are lovely and when staff are also friendly it makes your stay just that little more special.

Room Tip: Try get the room away from the air conditioning system outside the floors as they can get noisy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here in one of our 2 Bedroom Executive apartments. For a slightly higher nightly rate that the standard 2 Bedroom apartment, you do receive a second bathroom, 2nd balcony, walk-in wardrobe from the main bedroom as well as a high floor with spectacular South-Eastern views over St Patricks Cathedral and the Sports precinct including the MCG. Really glad you found it comfortable for the 4 of you ladies. Our location is certainly ideal for anyone looking to see a show at any of the theatres and also dining at Chinatown.

I will pass on your comments to Aida, Vishnu and Bhavin and happy they were able to keep you entertained in their usual friendly and professional manner.

I will also pass on your comments about the service in the cafe next door to their management as they may find them of benefit though as it is not managed nor owned by Oaks.

Great to hear of your pleasant experience and it seems you really found a home away from home. We look forward to doing the same again when you are next in Melbourne and thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great size apartment TV in the bedroom .Apartment is fully self contained washing machine and dryer and full sized fridge. Staff very helpful and friendly . Great bed very comfortable . Location was good train and tram just outside the hotel .

Room Tip: Botanical garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Fantastic to hear of your enjoyment of the spacious apartments we have here and also our ideal location. Equally pleasing to read your comments about our staff and the whole team here at Oaks on Lonsdale hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Maris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights, won't be staying here again as we have stayed at better places in the cbd. It's clean, our room was small but ok for what we needed. Couldn't see the tv at first then we noticed this tiny little black screen in the corner with bad reception. It's in a good location but pay extra money for a better room. And don't stay here if it's windy in melbourne. The walls squeak ALL night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. A recent 2-day period of unusual weather (even for Melbourne) including 140kph winds did create some associated noise in some parts of the building which we were unfortuantely unable to avoid but apologise for you having to experience this. I am glad you found the room ok with the exception of the TV which sounds like it may require a re-tune after the high winds.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There were many things we were unhappy with. The main areas being the washing machine which took 6 hours to wash and dry and on the 3rd day stopped working at all. There is also only heating in the main area and the 2 bedrooms were freezing, our 3 month old is now sick! Then there was the uncleaned airvent above the bath/shower which kept dropping dirt/dust/lint and was putrid to look at. Also the front staff weren't overly helpful, but the cleaners were lovely. Won't be returning and won't be recommending which is a shame because we have had such great experiences at other Oaks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Whilst it is sad to hear of your experiences had here at Oaks on Lonsdale recently and that you would not return nor recommend, we do appreciate your feedback in order to identify any deficiencies in the service you received.

The heating in the apartments are located in the lounge areas and whilst we rarely hear of this being inadequate to heat the entire apartment, we certainly take your comments on board.

The bathroom airvent condition certainly sounds unacceptable and this will be addressed with the housekeeping contractors. Re-training may need to take place and I sincerely apologise for this lack of cleanliness.

I will also personally investigate the condition of the washer/dryer to ensure it is running as expected or arrange for the appropriate repairs to be undertaken. Occaisionally appliances do fail and when this does happen and we are made aware of it, we make it our priorty to recitfy as soon as we can so that normal operations can resume for your convenience.

I apologise that we have not met your expectations in this instance and once again I sincerely appreicate your commments as they are invaluable to us in striving to improve across all facets of quality service.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overall the hotel was good, the room was large and had plenty of seating. The kitchen was a good size with all the utensils needed and a dishwasher. However, the washing machine would not work properly. We put it on a simple wash cycle and after about an hour or so the machine just stopped. After turning it off and opening the door, I saw there was still water in the machine, so I put it on a rinse and spin cycle and we left for the day. When we came back at 4 the machine was still slowly churning our clothes around. I stopped it at this point since it obviously wasn't working and went down to reception to explain the problem. A man arrived not long after to look at the machine, it soon became clear he was not a repair man or anything as he just read the instruction on the top of the machine and put it on a dry cycle (this after I explained to him it had not washed the clothes and I was trying to get it to rinse them). He then left. After the machine whirring for about another half an hour and not doing anything, I took out our poor, over-soaked clothes and discovered that they were covered in soap still. I then had to hand wash them and try to hang them around the apartment to dry.
We later discovered, upon waking to a pool of water on the bench, that the kettle was leaky. After the lack of help with the washer I wasn't bothered to contact reception about this potential electrical hazard.

The front desk staff were not particularly friendly, the girl who checked us in was actually very abrupt. The housekeeping staff were very nice though.

Great location but don't expect the washer to work properly or to get the problem resolved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay here at Oaks on Lonsdale. I am sorry to hear that your washing machine was not working as it should during your stay and it has been scheduled for repair by our contracted serviceman. Unfortuantely when an appliance is in need of repair, this can not always be fixed at the time though we endeavour to as quickly as is possible. It is disappoitning to hear that you are of the opinion that appliances within the apartments here won't be in working order upon checking in, nor that they will be fixed when reported as malfunctioning as I can assure you that this is a priority of ours. A quick call to reception would have certainly arranged a brand new kettle.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.