We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but pricey and no double beds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #68 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well located but pricey and no double beds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Two couples stayed here on a weekend trip to Melbourne. The location was good in terms of lots of nice restaurants nearby and it is just a short walk to trams and trains and well located for a walk to the MMCG. The apartment was spacious and clean and reasonably spacious. However, there were single beds in both rooms and the one bathroom was separate rather than ensuite. It was also relatively expensive at $300 a night but that could have been about how we booked because I think it may be possible to get a better deal through some of the online booking sites.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment for two couples but both had two single beds - you may need to be spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

I am glad to hear you found our location ideal but disappointed to hear of you not receiving your requested bedding configuration in the apartment. A quick phone call to reception at the time you checked in would have enabled us to recitfy this immediately for you and either move you to a room with two king beds or change the bedding in your unit in a timely manner.

I do hope we see you again at Oaks on Lonsdale and thank you for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    217
    56
    24
    17
See reviews for
80
166
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penshurst NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to Melbourne to celebrate an aunt's "0" birthday with her family. The apartment was great for us as there were 5 women of very varying ages and having 2 bathrooms was fabulous. Accommodation was adequate for all of us & the view over Melbourne was just amazing. It was a shame that it was so bitterly cold that we could not use the balcony for drinks. The weather was just awful but the apartment was nice & warm & the air conditioning warmed the place up very quickly. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Close to free tram & IGA next door for nibbles and wine. The bonus was the cafe called "Sashimos Den" (hope I have the name right) which was in Puddle Lane - fabulous food, fabulous staff a real must visit if you are staying here. Only open for breakfast & lunch but wonderful.

Room Tip: We were on 22nd Floor - amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
So pleased to hear of your greatly enjoyed weekend both here at Oaks on Lonsdale and Melbourne. Apologies for the weather but it does seem the worst is behind us and the guests staying over the next 6 months should be able to enjoy the wonderful views in comfort from the balconies.

Hope to see you again next year at the same time or for the next birthday weekend.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is located close by to St Vincents Hospital, which was suitable for me as I was attending a business conference.
Check in/out was conducted in a timely manner and our luggage was held without any issues following check out.

Two issues:
1. Requested 2 single beds , upon my arrival in the room, there was a queen. Upon closer inspection, this was actually two single beds held together by velco. Could the facility not have separated the beds as per my request? Therefore, we pulled apart the beds ourselves.

I send my compliments to house keeping the next day who saw our bedding configurations and changed our sheets to fit 2 single beds.

2. Upon changing our bedding configurations we noticed wine stains on our bed spread (probably wouldn't have noticed if we haven't been moving everything around). For the price we paid, although I recognise staying in the heart of Melbourne is not cheap across the board, I do expect a basic level of cleanliness

Aside from this,
The room was spacious (1 bedroom apartment), comfortable sofa and everything else was quite clean. The reception was prompt in addressing our concerns there was no hairdryer in the room as well despite being quite late at night.

Location wise: 15 minute walk to Federation square and felt quite safe walking around the area being a female

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments pertaining to your stay with us here at Oaks on Lonsdale. I apologise for you not receiving your requested bedding configuration in the apartment though we would have been more than happy to arrange this as a priority upon notifying the front desk team. Wine stains, or other, are not acceptable on any linen within the guest apartments and I am disappointed to know that you have come across these. This is certainly not what we expect as our usually high standards and the housekeeping department have been notified for remedy. I do hope we see you again at Oaks on Lonsdale and thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived early and was told we would get a phone call when room was ready. come 3pm and hour after check-in time still no call.. checked in and arrived in room that was not what i booked, so headed back down and got room changed after alot of time wasting.. room was good to start with pretty clean had what i booked in it.. the cleaning service each day was pretty bad on a 4 night stay.. got to 3rd night and room wasnt even serviced after stating serviced apartments on there website... Overall wasnt to bad, nicer service would be good and cleaning could be so much better..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for the feedback concerning your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale recently. It looks as though the communication regarding the availability of your apartment was non-existent and will be something that I will need to stress the importance of with the front desk team. This is vital to ensure that you can access the apartment as a matter of priority.

I am sorry that you were checked into the incorrect apartment but glad that the staff could recitfy the situation as quickly as they could.

It is disappointing to hear of the lask of housekeeping service on your final day which should have taken place and I will need to raise this with the housekeeping department to ensure that this does not repeat for any future guests. We cerainly are a serviced apartment property and daily servicing should happen as a matter of course. Non-servicing of guests apartments is taken very seriously.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I apologise sincerely for the sub-standard service you have received during this stay.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here in July for 3 nights. It has everything you need in a great location for a brilliant price. Rooms are large for a hotel in the CBD. Even had a washing machine and 2 TVs. The view was ok. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient. Check in and check out was fast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay with us here at Oaks on Lonsdale and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was far better than we had anticipated. We booked a one bed apartment and a two bed apartment through bookings.com. We made our choice based on apparent value for money and proximity to the main CBD.
On arriving, the staff were very nice and attentive, the rooms were both clean and well decorated and much bigger than we had expected. The view from our balcony was sensational, straight across the Melbourne city to the MCG.
There was tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room and the cooking facilities were 1st class.
The bed was very comfortable and plenty of spare bedding.
A reasonable sized flat screen tv/dvd with a comfortable sofa in the lounge area.
All the hallways were in spotless condition and the cleaning staff were very polite.
On check out the staff were once again very polite and extremely helpful.
We have no complaints at all and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It sounds like you had a great time in Melbourne and enjoyed all that Oaks Lonsdale has to offer. We will welcome you back again soon and thanks for the feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom. Main problem was the loud noise coming from the lift ALL night and the strange rattling/scratching noise from the bedroom wall beside the staircase. Possibly from ths wind and fire hose in the staircase. My toddler was scared and refused to sleep until past midnight. Made a complaint at 3 am, but desk guy said he would look in to it but no changes!
Walls were unclean with food and stains found. Our rooms were not serviced or cleaned and we had rubbish collecting over the 3 days we were there.
Overall rooms were ok and happy with the size and balcony but will not stay here again. I was not happy with being placed beside the lifts and stairway and not worth the $ I paid for 3 sleepless nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Oaks On Lonsdale recently.

I am certainly disappointed to hear of your experince during the very turbulent windy weather we had in Melbourne when you were here as when these extreme conditions do arise, the wind can sometime swirl around the building causing some noise. I am sorry to hear of your interuppted sleep as we pride ourselves on providing comfortable and peaceful accommodation.

I apologise for you not receiving our normal housekeeping servicing and I would like to follow up on this more thoroughly. If you could be so kind as to make contact with me directly to do so I would really appreciate this. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.