We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money. Location, rooms, cleanliness all good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #61 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money. Location, rooms, cleanliness all good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here in July for 3 nights. It has everything you need in a great location for a brilliant price. Rooms are large for a hotel in the CBD. Even had a washing machine and 2 TVs. The view was ok. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient. Check in and check out was fast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay with us here at Oaks on Lonsdale and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    224
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
82
170
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was far better than we had anticipated. We booked a one bed apartment and a two bed apartment through bookings.com. We made our choice based on apparent value for money and proximity to the main CBD.
On arriving, the staff were very nice and attentive, the rooms were both clean and well decorated and much bigger than we had expected. The view from our balcony was sensational, straight across the Melbourne city to the MCG.
There was tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room and the cooking facilities were 1st class.
The bed was very comfortable and plenty of spare bedding.
A reasonable sized flat screen tv/dvd with a comfortable sofa in the lounge area.
All the hallways were in spotless condition and the cleaning staff were very polite.
On check out the staff were once again very polite and extremely helpful.
We have no complaints at all and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It sounds like you had a great time in Melbourne and enjoyed all that Oaks Lonsdale has to offer. We will welcome you back again soon and thanks for the feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom. Main problem was the loud noise coming from the lift ALL night and the strange rattling/scratching noise from the bedroom wall beside the staircase. Possibly from ths wind and fire hose in the staircase. My toddler was scared and refused to sleep until past midnight. Made a complaint at 3 am, but desk guy said he would look in to it but no changes!
Walls were unclean with food and stains found. Our rooms were not serviced or cleaned and we had rubbish collecting over the 3 days we were there.
Overall rooms were ok and happy with the size and balcony but will not stay here again. I was not happy with being placed beside the lifts and stairway and not worth the $ I paid for 3 sleepless nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Oaks On Lonsdale recently.

I am certainly disappointed to hear of your experince during the very turbulent windy weather we had in Melbourne when you were here as when these extreme conditions do arise, the wind can sometime swirl around the building causing some noise. I am sorry to hear of your interuppted sleep as we pride ourselves on providing comfortable and peaceful accommodation.

I apologise for you not receiving our normal housekeeping servicing and I would like to follow up on this more thoroughly. If you could be so kind as to make contact with me directly to do so I would really appreciate this. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Helped by fantastic female staff member. Stayed for two nights for both business and relaxation ( 2 nights away from our own busy motel). Joined up as a member on Internet and saved a few dollars. Parking on site, very clean modern room, great beds and pillows. The sky high rooms have great city views. Thank You Oaks had a great couple of days off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some time off from running your own motel and enjoy all we have to offer. See you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at Oaks as have not been there before and also needed somewhere with a car park . Good location, only a few blocks to Melbourne central or QV if you want supplies at Coles or Woolies. Free circle tram stop is only a few minutes walk away over Spring St, otherwise only about 20-25 min walk to Fed square. Have stayed in quite a few apartments and hotels and this one had one of the best (king!) beds I have slept in. Had a 2 bedroom apartment on floor 24 with great views towards MCG. It is also close to eating places. Greek precinct, china town, and further down we at Pomodoro and also Mrs Parmas just in lane behind us. Car park is tight , we have a Honda CRV and managed OK but wouldn't want to have anything higher or longer to manouvre.

Room Tip: If staying in apartment try and get floors 20 and above if want to get views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The close proximity to a plethora of restaurants and shopping districts is one of many reason guests keep coming back to stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale. Very happy to hear of your enoyed recent stay and sounds like you noticed our comfortable beds sourced specifially to ensure guests have a restful nights sleep. Many thanks for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2nights as part of my Lions rugby tour. Normally I stay in the Southbank area of Melbourne but enjoyed my stay here at the Oaks. Was in a studio bedroom on a high floor - it was spacious with everything and more that I needed for my short stay. The Oaks is in a good location and Melbourne is an easy walkable city. Great to have onsite secure parking for my stay at only $20 it was reasonable pricing for the city centre location. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the area on Exhibition Street. Good value accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale when visiting Melbourne during the British & Irish Lions tour like so many others and hope to see you again in 12 years time.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Recently stayed for a few nights during the week found the Location very handy even a bus stop at the front and walking distance to most cbd attractions. Pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, great views, clean room and a comfortable bed. Look forward to our next visit there. We used advice from tripadvisor members and asked for a high floor great advice thanks.

Room Tip: request high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad to hear you were fortunate enough to receive a comlimentary upgrade and enjoyed the views and bed comfort during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.